: How long can you engine oil sit in the car before it should be changed?

smokehouse
04-25-2008, 07:15 PM
I'm not extremely knowledgeable on these things...I hate to admit it but it's true.

I had my last oil change in Sept of 2006...

Yup, Sept of 2006 with Mobil 1 full synthetic.

I just turned over 3K miles this month (since the change, 12,xxx on the clock total). I've been checking the oil on a regular basis and have had to add just over a Qt in the past few years but other than that, it's just now finally starting to darken.

I'm switching out to Royal Purple 5w30 with a Bosch filter tomorrow but I was wondering...like the title states, how long can this stuff last if it's not driven that much?

Was 1-1/2 years too long or does it really matter?

ba83
04-25-2008, 07:26 PM
WTF
I am no expert by any means but one and half years is too long

Spooky_pitboss
04-25-2008, 07:26 PM
like they always say, 3,000 miles or 3 months, whichever comes first. Im a firm believe in changing it even quicker than that, but thats just me.

Mister Skizzels
04-25-2008, 07:27 PM
for my GTO when I store it in the winter, I change the oil in November and then change it out when I bring the car out in March/April.

Spooky_pitboss
04-25-2008, 07:28 PM
oil, no matter how much you pay for it, will gunk up from sitting in the pan. 1.5 years is ridiculous, that's horrible....

smokehouse
04-25-2008, 07:41 PM
...no need to be rude about it...

1-the oil is in no way "gunked up"...it's fine...I check it often...no gunk, no sludge, no discoloration even...I'm still pulling 19mpg...my car runs like a top...

2-I can't ever recall seeing an expiration date on a bottle of oil...if this 3 months bullshit is true do companies dump their leftover stock every three months...this stuff is synthetic you know...

*checks bottle of RP*