: GMPP Cams - ASA or HOT

My Little GTO
11-06-2008, 06:08 AM
I've been conteplating buying a cam for a couple months now but I just can't seem to make a decision between these two.

Before I get replys of these two cams are junk, too small of lift, yada yada yada, let me explain. I'm getting headers shortly, and I would like to install a Cam at the same time so both mods can be tuned together, instead of making two trips to the dyno shop and tuner. I was originally just going to get headers, but I can get a GM employee discount and get the GMPP cams for dirt cheap. So it is either a GMPP cam or I'm probably never going to get a cam.

I've done some research on the two, the Hot cam seems to be a decent cam, flat curve, nothing to wild, but I'm thinking I want something just a bit bigger. So I started looking in the ASA.

The ASA duration is fine, the lift is fine for me, but the LSA scares me. That 110 LSA is going to give the cam a lot of overlap, and it definately is choppy.

Now, the corvette and F-body guys seem to love them, I did a search here and it seems everybody here hates both of them.

I know I'm leaving 10+ HP on the table by not going with an aftermarket cam, but one of these two is better than no cam at all.

The thing that attracts me to these cams is the lower lifts. I know ya'll like those high lift cams, but I'd rather have something that is a little nicer on the valvetrain. With both of these I can throw in LS6 springs and be done for life and not be changing out springs every 20,000 miles.

the specs

ASA
226/236 duration
.525 lift
110 LSA

Hot cam
218/228 duration
.525 lift
112 LSA