SD tune w/ MAF? - Page 2 - LS1GTO.com Forums

Vendors


Go Back   LS1GTO.com Forums > GTO Tech > LS1/LS2 Engine Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-19-2012, 12:04 PM   #31
mike27408
MotorWrecker
 
mike27408's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 323


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steel Chicken...View Post
So you don't ruin the harness and create possible wiring issues down the road. Or in case you want to go back.

yeah Im a fan of plug and play as well....If his tuner thinks it will work Ill give him the one I have for free....eliminate the MAF all together..he'll have evrything he needs,IAT sensor included
__________________
2005 GTO QSM,418" NaturallyAspirated,Bullet Racing cam,243 heads,6speed,Kooks 1-3/4" headers w/cats,matchported FAST 102,NW 102mm,3.73 gearsPB in 1/8th 7.76@97 on Firestones with 1.97 60'
Tick Performance tuned
522 RWHP/501 RWTQ
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-19-2012, 12:04 PM   #32
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Thanks guys. I was going to just order everything from WCS. The car does run great though. 2nd and 3rd gear are almost useless.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 12:10 PM   #33
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike27408...View Post
yeah Im a fan of plug and play as well....If his tuner thinks it will work Ill give him the one I have for free....eliminate the MAF all together..he'll have evrything he needs,IAT sensor included

Interesting. I can paypal you shipping money if you want
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 12:44 PM   #34
mike27408
MotorWrecker
 
mike27408's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 323


Offline
no shipping $$$ needed youre in NC anyway it will be cheap...talk to your tuner about it...it will save you some $$ on a break out harness and lose a restriction in the air stream...PM me your address
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 12:48 PM   #35
mike27408
MotorWrecker
 
mike27408's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 323


Offline
new and never used Vector Motorsports "heat sink reduction kit" which essentially just moves IAT sensor but you can use it in your set up...probably be fine...Ive had it put up for years and never used it
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 12:51 PM   #36
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike27408...View Post
new and never used Vector Motorsports "heat sink reduction kit" which essentially just moves IAT sensor but you can use it in your set up...probably be fine...Ive had it put up for years and never used it

Awesome. Pm sent. You're the man.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 04:55 AM   #37
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
I got the harness. Thanks Mike27408! Everything looks like it will work . I have a small section of 3 3/4" metal tubing that I had made to go in place of the MAF. I figured a rubber coupler the length I needed would suck in or just not keep its shape at WOT. The rubber grommet I bought from Lowes. I just need to drill a hole in the Svede and everything should be good. With a retune of course.

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 05:17 AM   #38
slammin86
...brah
 
slammin86's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rogersville MO
Posts: 8,313


Offline
You would be fine with a rubber coupler. That metal piece will just hold heat.
__________________
04 M6 GTO
Mods: HP Tuners
SD tuned by me
10.9 @ 132 w/ 1.8 60 HAHALOL

99 Civic SI
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 11:56 AM   #39
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Question. I drilled the hole in the Svede and installed the grommet and sensor. Now if I install the harness for now and leave the MAF on, will the tune need to be looked at? Can I just plug and play?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 05:49 PM   #40
Audacious Nick
Banned
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,525


Offline
Considering you're running a SD tune, would it not be wiser to move the IAT sensor as close to the manifold as possible?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 01:22 AM   #41
dyno junkie
Registered User
 
dyno junkie's Avatar
 
Monaro CV8

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 884


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audacious Nick...View Post
Considering you're running a SD tune, would it not be wiser to move the IAT sensor as close to the manifold as possible?




No, best location is as close to the filter as possible.
__________________
2001 Monaro CV8 LS3
11.089seconds
122.78mph
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 04:10 AM   #42
redtan
Registered User
 
redtan's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,447


Online
[QUOTE]No, best location is as close to the filter as possible.[/QUOTE

Why wouldn't you want the sensor as close to the intake manifold as possible to get the most accurate temperature of the air actually entering your manifold and thus the combustion chamber.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transmission Perform...View Post
The cylinder heads became deformed because the air filter was so dirty they couldnt handle all the build up of air and oil coming through the air filter and the throttle body so i tried replacing the air tube with a cold air intake and i think the extra power blew out the cylinder heads and they crashed through valley pan into the crank. Then the crank spun hard and threw the pistons up to hard to cause a misfire

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 04:46 AM   #43
Audacious Nick
Banned
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,525


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyno junkie...View Post
No, best location is as close to the filter as possible.

That makes no sense. You want to get an idea of the temperature of the air entering the intake, and those is most accurately done by either mounting it on the intake manifold itself, or as close as possible.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 04:59 AM   #44
mistermike
10-4
 
mistermike's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 20,801
GKPW52

Online
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyno junkie...View Post
No, best location is as close to the filter as possible.

Wrong. This location will not read any heat picked up between the filter and the intake. Pretending that intake temperature is different that what it really is gives you less control over the engine, not more. The air and fuel molecules detonating in the combustion chamber don't know and don't care what the sensor is indicating. This is why GM uses charge temperature modeling to estimate the actual temperatures in the combustion chamber, which is the only place it really matters.
__________________
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h306/MikeStainlessWorks/SigPicAniSm.gif
World's First Twin Screw Pontiac GTO

Blown H/C 408 and other stuff. Billet tires. Plasti Dip tints. Stage 3 keyboard. /////.
2008 HHR SS tweaked
2003 CTS w/ dead hooker in spacious trunk
fquick
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 05:10 AM   #45
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Wouldnt the sensor become heat soaked though and read a higher temp than the air in the manifold?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 05:42 AM   #46
mistermike
10-4
 
mistermike's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 20,801
GKPW52

Online
Not if it's properly shielded from ambient heat. An Omega thermistor in the sensor will improve the situation dramatically.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 05:48 AM   #47
Audacious Nick
Banned
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,525


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by randy555...View Post
Wouldnt the sensor become heat soaked though and read a higher temp than the air in the manifold?

Like mike said, it depends on shielding and location. Drilling a hole and mounting it in the plastic manifold, right behind the throttle body will give you a good reading.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2013, 03:00 PM   #48
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-T-O...View Post
The maf isn't suppose to be there

It has to be on there now to read IAT's. I forgot about that when I made this thread. The breakout harness I have will allow me to get rid of the MAF and will read temps faster.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2013, 06:33 PM   #49
mike27408
MotorWrecker
 
mike27408's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 323


Offline
keep me posted Randy...Id like to know that harness is working out...removing/deleting the MAF sensor should reduce air intake restriction a little...
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2013, 06:51 PM   #50
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike27408...View Post
keep me posted Randy...Id like to know that harness is working out...removing/deleting the MAF sensor should reduce air intake restriction a little...

Will do Mike. Just waiting until payday so I can get on the dyno again.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 04:43 AM   #51
dyno junkie
Registered User
 
dyno junkie's Avatar
 
Monaro CV8

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 884


Offline
Well I must be wrong putting the sensor in front of the radiator.











Oh wait it id give me a consistent 1.5 to 2.0 mph improvement in speed and a slightly quicker ET.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 04:56 AM   #52
Steel Chicken
L33T IT Direktor, Excel PhD
 
Steel Chicken's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Magrathea
Posts: 19,999
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyno junkie...View Post
Well I must be wrong putting the sensor in front of the radiator.

Correct.


Quote:
Oh wait it id give me a consistent 1.5 to 2.0 mph improvement in speed and a slightly quicker ET.

Maybe it did, maybe it didn't. There are a huge number of variables involved. Nevertheless, a more correct IAT reading is better than a faked lower one.
__________________
2004 GTO, Stock LS1 internals, donkey dick cam, mega-ultron space heater @ 14PSI, ETP heads, exhaust thingies and other stuffs. 742 RAWRZORS.


Quote:
Justice is swift and unfair in the eyes of those who don't know shit. - tmiller

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 01:59 PM   #53
dyno junkie
Registered User
 
dyno junkie's Avatar
 
Monaro CV8

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 884


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steel Chicken...View Post
Correct.



Maybe it did, maybe it didn't. There are a huge number of variables involved. Nevertheless, a more correct IAT reading is better than a faked lower one.




Yes it did.

The sensor is in fact no further from the engine than the factory location in the air box, just that it is no longer sitting in a hot engine bay.








.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 02:30 PM   #54
mike27408
MotorWrecker
 
mike27408's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 323


Offline
DuSpeed puts the IAT in front of the radiator...no issues on my car so far...
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 02:31 PM   #55
mike27408
MotorWrecker
 
mike27408's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 323


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by randy555...View Post
Will do Mike. Just waiting until payday so I can get on the dyno again.

sounds good man....
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 10:51 PM   #56
dyno junkie
Registered User
 
dyno junkie's Avatar
 
Monaro CV8

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 884


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike27408...View Post
DuSpeed puts the IAT in front of the radiator...no issues on my car so far...

You will find that most of the Australian made OTRCAI's have the sensor in front of the radiator
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 03:58 AM   #57
mistermike
10-4
 
mistermike's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 20,801
GKPW52

Online
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyno junkie...View Post
You will find that most of the Australian made OTRCAI's have the sensor in front of the radiator

They also drive on the wrong side of the road.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 07:15 AM   #58
mike27408
MotorWrecker
 
mike27408's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 323


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyno junkie...View Post
You will find that most of the Australian made OTRCAI's have the sensor in front of the radiator

Since the Svede is basically based on the same design probably wouldnt hurt to put it there.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2013, 06:01 AM   #59
jmd
OLD GOAT
 
jmd's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: crime capital of SC
Posts: 5,235


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistermike...View Post
Wrong. This location will not read any heat picked up between the filter and the intake. Pretending that intake temperature is different that what it really is gives you less control over the engine, not more. The air and fuel molecules detonating in the combustion chamber don't know and don't care what the sensor is indicating. This is why GM uses charge temperature modeling to estimate the actual temperatures in the combustion chamber, which is the only place it really matters.

agree. he speaks the truth.
__________________
2005 a4. slower than SoCar Goat.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2013, 03:21 PM   #60
Audacious Nick
Banned
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,525


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike27408...View Post
DuSpeed puts the IAT in front of the radiator...no issues on my car so far...

Just because there have been no issues, doesn't mean it's not wrong.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the LS1GTO.com Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:41 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003-2008, LS1GTO.com
Site Banner Design 2005-2007, Cylosoft

LS1GTO.com is not affiliated with General Motors Corp.