ABS Brake Delete - Who's Done It? - LS1GTO.com Forums

Vendors


Go Back   LS1GTO.com Forums > GTO Tech > Suspension/Brakes

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-09-2009, 05:52 PM   #1
JoeyD
Spicey's Back In Town!
 
JoeyD's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kingston, PA
Posts: 5,498


Offline
ABS Brake Delete - Who's Done It?

Already did a search and only a scant few threads out there on the topic and nothing specific.

My First Goat has a manual brake conversion kit, but I'd like to retain PBs. Also saw SJM's F-body ABS Brake Delete kit, but it's not plug and play for the GTOs.

So has anyone removed their ABS hardware and just run power brakes? If so, any details you care to share would be much appreciated. Pics even better

Thanks
__________________

2006 SRM, A4, 1900 TVS, plus other stuff





Quote:
Originally Posted by Nmbr1GMfan...View Post
"The problem is this texting crap has spelling down to retard shorthand"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Impalaguy........
"No, I am not drunk; but, I may have been over-served"

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2009, 06:16 PM   #2
drawk04
Stands Alone
 
drawk04's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,609


Offline
Send a message via AIM to drawk04
that sounds like a lot of work. i have a better idea,....the speed sensors by the rear end that read the magnets on the axles....just take them off or just misaligned them a little...disables the abs.
__________________
04 PBM M6 Mille Miglia EV-S 18s K&N FIPK Intake,SLP Loud Mouth 1, 06 brakes,LS7 Clutch, Kooks 1 3/4's,3.91's, Kaaz LSD, Harrop,BMR One Piece,GForce Axles/Stubs,Lovells Eliminator 20mm drop,NGK IX Plugs,Russel SS Lines, HP Tuners Tune. JL Audio XR650 CXi speakers,Alpine V-Power 4 channel 600 watt amp, Kenwood DPX502 head unit. Black 05 Style Faces w/shiftlight activation.SCSS Gauge Pod.GMM Race.DDM 5K HID's.

92 Honda Accord EX 5 Speed.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2009, 06:19 PM   #3
JoeyD
Spicey's Back In Town!
 
JoeyD's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kingston, PA
Posts: 5,498


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by drawk04...View Post
that sounds like a lot of work. i have a better idea,....the speed sensors by the rear end that read the magnets on the axles....just take them off or just misaligned them a little...disables the abs.

Your suggestion would solve 1/2 of the overall goal. The other half is weight reduction/more room in the engine bay
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2009, 07:09 PM   #4
miker
'12-'13 ScrScca SM Champ
 
miker's Avatar
 
Monaro CV8

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Goose Creek, SC
Posts: 6,401


Offline
Send a message via AIM to miker Send a message via MSN to miker Send a message via Yahoo to miker
Quote:
Originally Posted by drawk04...View Post
that sounds like a lot of work. i have a better idea,....the speed sensors by the rear end that read the magnets on the axles....just take them off or just misaligned them a little...disables the abs.

You still have all that extra line too.
__________________
2006 Monaro 18/A4
386HP/376TQ Heintz Racing Tune - 1/4th 12.4@113
- .218/.222 .601 Cam, Lunati HighRPM Lifters, Ported/Milled 243s, UDP, Oil Baffle, Comp Trunnions, K&N CAI, ARP Bolts, Catless JBA Shorties
- RE-11s, V2 Brembos, Coilovers, Bushings, Fastrack, Swaybars, ARP Studs, 15lbs Braille
- Manual 4l65e, Anti-Hop Axles, 3.5" Alum DS, TrueTrac, 3.73s, Harrop Cover, Sparco Evo2s
- Ron Davis Radiator, Derale PS/Trans Coolers, JBiz CatchCan, Russell Lines, AeroForce, Bel RX65
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2009, 06:35 PM   #5
Canada
Looking for 10s
 
Canada's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 3,321


Offline
I heard you can remove it but still need to have the connection plugged in. When the car does a system check and its not plugged in, the car wont start. I've never messed with it and like you I'm trying to get more info on it. I replied in Frank's thread but haven't heard any responses back.
__________________
1 of 368 MBM

Beta Tester for Mavrick Man Carbon
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2009, 06:43 PM   #6
My First GTO
Banned
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Flemington, NJ www.Rocksandracingllc.com
Posts: 8,492
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianGoat...View Post
I heard you can remove it but still need to have the connection plugged in. When the car does a system check and its not plugged in, the car wont start. I've never messed with it and like you I'm trying to get more info on it. I replied in Frank's thread but haven't heard any responses back.

just call me....frank
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2009, 01:21 AM   #7
JoeyD
Spicey's Back In Town!
 
JoeyD's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kingston, PA
Posts: 5,498


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by My First GTO...View Post
just call me....frank

Frank, I'll talk with you this weekend. Looking forward to meeting you in person.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2009, 11:11 AM   #8
My First GTO
Banned
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Flemington, NJ www.Rocksandracingllc.com
Posts: 8,492
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyD...View Post
Frank, I'll talk with you this weekend. Looking forward to meeting you in person.

Us to Joe Looks to be a Great weekend....Frank
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2009, 11:33 AM   #9
sergo
Bamanana
 
sergo's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ovilla redenbacher, tx
Posts: 8,488


Offline
damn i was hoping to get some info out of this.
__________________
Sasha - pretty big, very bright and damn loud. Heart by SNL, supported by Lovells, Monsterized and built by me.
All stock sheet metal.

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2009, 01:35 PM   #10
Jasper Jones
Registered User
 
Jasper Jones's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 347
Premium Member


Offline
Bump for any info.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForzaV12...View Post
I drove a Prius once-took weeks to recover.

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2009, 02:27 PM   #11
GTO Eric
Registered User
 
GTO Eric's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham, PA
Posts: 421


Offline
I am more then likely going to be deleting mine. I went to relocate it then got pissed at it.
I contacted SJM to see if they had any solutions/tips for me.

I am going to be separating the abs computer from the pump/block and tucking it away to keep the computer happy and keep Traction control.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2009, 02:37 PM   #12
Konnie the Goat
Will Moderhate for Money.
 
Konnie the Goat's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 11,123
Premium Member


Offline
The plumbing side of this aint hard. Its already front/rear split coming of the master cyl to the ABS block. So really, you just need a "y" block to connect the lines. If i was doing it, id add in adjustable proportioners to set the brake balance.

Electrical side, If the PCM wants a CAN packet, you need to keep the module. If its checking for voltage or ground on a certain circuit, thats doable with out the module. But, It seems frank may have an answer to that.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2009, 05:57 AM   #13
Jasper Jones
Registered User
 
Jasper Jones's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 347
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konnie the Goat...View Post
The plumbing side of this aint hard. Its already front/rear split coming of the master cyl to the ABS block. So really, you just need a "y" block to connect the lines. If i was doing it, id add in adjustable proportioners to set the brake balance.

Electrical side, If the PCM wants a CAN packet, you need to keep the module. If its checking for voltage or ground on a certain circuit, thats doable with out the module. But, It seems frank may have an answer to that.

I'm not worried about the plumbing at all, I just have no idea what to do about the electronics side.

Plus, I still have to decide if I want to go just ABS delete, or ABS delete with manual brake setup.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2009, 08:25 AM   #14
GTO Eric
Registered User
 
GTO Eric's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Nottingham, PA
Posts: 421


Offline
for now you can just plug in the ABS computer side until someone has a hardware software solution.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2010, 05:17 PM   #15
Canada
Looking for 10s
 
Canada's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 3,321


Offline
Anyone get all this figured out yet?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2010, 03:20 AM   #16
VooDoo
Obsessive Compulsive Detailer
 
VooDoo's Avatar
 
HSV Coupe'

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 642


Offline
Here ya go




__________________
HSV GTO with some Detailing
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2010, 07:11 AM   #17
Jasper Jones
Registered User
 
Jasper Jones's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 347
Premium Member


Offline
That's cool, but it's not a delete. A lot of us are looking to get rid of the weight, plumbing, and extra controls over driving. So far, it appears no one has figured out the electronics side of the delete.

Nice work though, your car is awesome.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2010, 08:28 AM   #18
Poncho Dan
GTrOllololol
 
Poncho Dan's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jackson, WI
Posts: 552


Offline
Question: Why bother? The weight you'll save is maybe 10 pounds, plus you'll never be able to compensate for lock up like the computer...

If you're looking to ditch weight, start with the A/C and the radio & speakers.
__________________
ASE Master Certified
Matco nutswinger

05/M6 CGM - handmade Svede, Kooks signature series/catless mids, Bassani, -168lbs, HPT self tuned
'03 Grand Am L61/M86 - full custom exhaust, self tuned
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2010, 09:09 PM   #19
Canada
Looking for 10s
 
Canada's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 3,321


Offline
I'd take my chance predicting a skid instead of abs. Your on the breaks hard enuff for it your not in control anyway. I prefer to just delete it and be done with it. Why must people these days think they need all this computer controlled stuff to help them drive. What happened to the old days where you just drive cars. A/C I'd keep just for comfort and the radio to listen to tunes on longer trips since its not a full out track car. Just want to completly delete the abs. I wouldn't mind a manual steering rack either.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2010, 03:00 PM   #20
Jimmy TJ
Registered User
 
Jimmy TJ's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 126


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poncho Dan...View Post
Question: Why bother? The weight you'll save is maybe 10 pounds, plus you'll never be able to compensate for lock up like the computer...

If you're looking to ditch weight, start with the A/C and the radio & speakers.

10 pounds is 10 pounds, especially since its coming off the front of the car. If the OP(and myself) doesnt want/need ABS, why keep it?

As far as not being able to control a skid as well as a computer.. I guess that depends on the driver and how well they know their vehicle..
__________________
'04 YJ GTO: Lots of red stuff under it, still slow, but it sounds good!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2010, 03:40 PM   #21
Konnie the Goat
Will Moderhate for Money.
 
Konnie the Goat's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Galesburg, IL
Posts: 11,123
Premium Member


Offline
Voodoo, that is clean as hell.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2010, 11:25 PM   #22
04GTOgtgo
?
 
04GTOgtgo's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 267


Offline
Can't you toggle ABS on and off with the button on the shifter, at least in the A4s? I accidentally discovered it with my car while I was messing with it while waiting for someone in a parking lot.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2010, 12:13 AM   #23
VooDoo
Obsessive Compulsive Detailer
 
VooDoo's Avatar
 
HSV Coupe'

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 642


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04GTOgtgo...View Post
Can't you toggle ABS on and off with the button on the shifter, at least in the A4s? I accidentally discovered it with my car while I was messing with it while waiting for someone in a parking lot.

Thats traction control only not the ABS.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2010, 03:10 AM   #24
860
Registered User
 
860's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 919


Offline
Voodoo, Do you get any dash board ABS warnings when you start the car up? or does that do the trick?
I wanted to ditch my abs a few years ago, just to get rid of the rats nest of brake lines on the passenger side wheel well. But never figured out what to do with the elctrical side of things. If that works, I may re-visit that project.
__________________
10.45@129
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2010, 06:45 AM   #25
Jasper Jones
Registered User
 
Jasper Jones's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 347
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by 860...View Post
Voodoo, Do you get any dash board ABS warnings when you start the car up? or does that do the trick?
I wanted to ditch my abs a few years ago, just to get rid of the rats nest of brake lines on the passenger side wheel well. But never figured out what to do with the elctrical side of things. If that works, I may re-visit that project.

I would have to assume his ABS still operates as intended, because all the components are still there, all he did was relocate them.

Does anyone know if the ABS interacts with the ECM or the BCM, and if it is just one or the other?

I'm thinking if it only communicates with the BCM, in the future I might possibly do a standalone harness conversion from Speartech (I think they do it) and eliminate the BCM along with ABS, airbags, and whatnot, and just rewire what I need. So basically I'd be turning the GTO in something like the pro-touring guys do: the only electronics being engine controls. Of course, this is all a pipe dream right now, but it's one way I've thought of losing some weight and complexity from the car for drag racing.

Last edited by Jasper Jones; 02-08-2010 at 06:49 AM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2010, 08:30 AM   #26
Token
Token-Cracker African
 
Token's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Reidville, SC
Posts: 3,165


Offline
Send a message via AIM to Token
Might also want to consider the insurance headaches involved.
If you have an accident and on the check up of the car they notice the ABS is missing your looking at one heck of a nightmare. (most Insurers give a discount for things like abs/airbags etc...)
__________________

1996 Ford Thunderturkey
2012 Ford Moosetank

quite the zoo.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2010, 08:35 AM   #27
Jasper Jones
Registered User
 
Jasper Jones's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southeast MI
Posts: 347
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Son of Mad Dog...View Post
Might also want to consider the insurance headaches involved.
If you have an accident and on the check up of the car they notice the ABS is missing your looking at one heck of a nightmare. (most Insurers give a discount for things like abs/airbags etc...)

I could see that being a problem if they prove that your stopping distance was lengthened due to not having ABS in the snow or rain, but not all cars have ABS anyways, and I wouldn't be driving in the snow ever, and maybe rarely in the rain.

Plus, I am not too sure they would care about ABS when they see slicks, built motor, new suspension, cage, racing seats, and everything else that would most likely be in a car built to that level.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2010, 09:52 AM   #28
Token
Token-Cracker African
 
Token's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Reidville, SC
Posts: 3,165


Offline
Send a message via AIM to Token
true, but you have to mention these things to people.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2010, 04:10 PM   #29
SamHatco
Registered User
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Huntsville, TX
Posts: 8


Offline
I've done it....

and I got rid of that anoying ABS fault and traction control fault. It's so easy you won't believe it. In the harness going to the gauge cluster is a green wire and yellow/red wire. These are the signal wires for the ABS and traction control. Just eliminate those two wires and the fault goes away. On startup the the DIC does it's systems check and before I eliminated those two wires I would get ABS Fault and Low traction/traction control not working, now those faults are gone.

Sam
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2010, 05:43 PM   #30
Drunkin Goat
Maggie who?
 
Drunkin Goat's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,054


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamHatco...View Post
and I got rid of that anoying ABS fault and traction control fault. It's so easy you won't believe it. In the harness going to the gauge cluster is a green wire and yellow/red wire. These are the signal wires for the ABS and traction control. Just eliminate those two wires and the fault goes away. On startup the the DIC does it's systems check and before I eliminated those two wires I would get ABS Fault and Low traction/traction control not working, now those faults are gone.

Sam

I was just thinking about doing an ABS delete. The only thing keeping me from doing it was the car not starting with out it. I am going to pull those two terminals when my car is back together and test it. I hope it works.
__________________
416 LS3 NOVI 2500
build thread
www.ls1gto.com/forums/showthread.php?t=457175
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-ykr_-nRIs

1000+rwhp
1000+rwtq
OLD NUMBERS
60'-1.477
ET-9.937
MPH-140.78

ECS, WM Motorworks & Gforce1320 FTW
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the LS1GTO.com Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:46 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003-2008, LS1GTO.com
Site Banner Design 2005-2007, Cylosoft

LS1GTO.com is not affiliated with General Motors Corp.