Cruise Control Inactive??? HELP!!! - LS1GTO.com Forums

Vendors


Go Back   LS1GTO.com Forums > GTO Tech > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11-19-2012, 07:17 AM   #1
KyFritz05GTO
Registered User
 
KyFritz05GTO's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 143


Offline
Cruise Control Inactive??? HELP!!!

I have a 2005 M6 and im having issues with my cruise control. Used the search button with not much luck. Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Issue - When turning on the cruise control it will display cruise inactive. If you try to set it and twist the set quickly it will sometime flash cruise set but then it goes right back to inactive.

Attemted fixes - Replaced the clutch switch (code was thrown for this)

Could this be something in relation to a speed sensor of some sort and how could I test this. Or could this possible stem from the brake switch, I know how these cars can be with that. And how would I test this? Any other suggestions and maybe a process to look into it.

Also I have noticed my TC kick on when im taking off from a dead stop on occasion. Only for a split second but that could be part of this as well?
__________________
05 TORRID RED GTO A4 -SOLD

05 YJ GTO M6 - Shorties, Corsa Sport, Volant CAI, Lowered on Lovell's w/ Pedders Comfort Ride, 18" TSW Cadwell Staggered fit, MGW-P STS, Monster Stage 2, Dyno - 374WHP, 368TQ

Last edited by KyFritz05GTO; 11-19-2012 at 07:20 AM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-19-2012, 07:25 AM   #2
LS2-GTO
1 of 40,757
 
LS2-GTO's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: East Amherst, New York
Posts: 3,771
Premium Member


Offline
A guess but more than likely the twist to set portion of the stalk is broken.
__________________

2006 GTO - QSM - M6
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 07:32 AM   #3
Fox Mulder
Alien Moderator
 
Fox Mulder's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,655
Premium Member


Offline
The solution to the TC activation when starting off can be found here (be sure to see the last page)-
http://www.ls1gto.com/forums/showthread.php?t=179249
I don't think that will kill the cruise though. Did you replace the correct clutch switch? There are two, one for when the pedal is fully up and one for when it's fully down. Make sure both are working and adjusted correctly.
__________________
05 GTO/ '15 WRX/ '02 WRX
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 07:57 AM   #4
KyFritz05GTO
Registered User
 
KyFritz05GTO's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 143


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS2-GTO...View Post
A guess but more than likely the twist to set portion of the stalk is broken.

Iv considered this I may try and track a used one down and try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox Mulder...View Post
The solution to the TC activation when starting off can be found here (be sure to see the last page)-
http://www.ls1gto.com/forums/showthread.php?t=179249
I don't think that will kill the cruise though. Did you replace the correct clutch switch? There are two, one for when the pedal is fully up and one for when it's fully down. Make sure both are working and adjusted correctly.

I replaced the upper switch. The lower was tested and it seemed to be ok. Now if that lower switch was bad wouldnt the car not start since that is the clutch safty switch???
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2012, 08:58 AM   #5
LS2-GTO
1 of 40,757
 
LS2-GTO's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: East Amherst, New York
Posts: 3,771
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyFritz05GTO...View Post
Iv considered this I may try and track a used one down and try.

The cruise on/off button on the end of the stalk went on mine. Now its always on and only the twist enable/disable portion works. Doesnt surprise me that the twist portion went on yours, if thats what happened.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 05:30 AM   #6
Riddler_GTO
Registered User
 
Riddler_GTO's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 144


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyFritz05GTO...View Post
I have a 2005 M6 and im having issues with my cruise control. Used the search button with not much luck. Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Issue - When turning on the cruise control it will display cruise inactive. If you try to set it and twist the set quickly it will sometime flash cruise set but then it goes right back to inactive.

Also I have noticed my TC kick on when im taking off from a dead stop on occasion. Only for a split second but that could be part of this as well?

You didn't happen to replace some of your tail light bulbs did you? The reason I say this is because I just did an LED conversion and messing with the resistance of the tails for some reason effects the cruise control and traction control.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 05:44 AM   #7
rocketman69
Black is Beautiful!
 
rocketman69's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO by way of Michigan
Posts: 282


Offline
Send a message via AIM to rocketman69
The only time I've ever had the "cruise inactive" display, was after installing an aftermarket intake....during which time I forgot to plug the MAF back in. Once the MAF was reconnected, the issue went away.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 06:47 AM   #8
KyFritz05GTO
Registered User
 
KyFritz05GTO's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 143


Offline
I'm an idiot it acutally displays Cruise Enabled. Through my research today I found that the Brake light swith may be a culprit so I just got one from my parts deparment ill toss it in tonight see how that works.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 07:05 AM   #9
bohnman
Horse Power = $$$
LS1GTO.com Sponsor
 
bohnman's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 3,244


Offline
Send a message via Yahoo to bohnman
Like some one above said did you change your tial lights? do you have a bulb out? is your T/C working ok?
__________________
05 MBM M6, Kooks 1 7/8" w/cats, Bassani Cat Back, SLP UDP, Drag bags, Ported TB, GMM Street, Lovels 0 drop, HE Twin clutch, Rear re-built by 2qwk, Tuned by AMS Performance, CCW 505A 19", 8" J&L subs, The 1st GTO with "GTO" lit rear bumper insert, AUX input. Interior LED Red/Blue (Done by me), LS3 Heads/Intake custom Cam From Bret Bauer

446/395 Mustang Dyno

11 F-150 With Ecoboost
01 HD FLSTFI

<a href=http://www.bohnmancustoms.com target=_blank>http://www.bohnmancustoms.com</a>
LCD screen Options

http://www.bohnmancustoms.com
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 07:50 AM   #10
KyFritz05GTO
Registered User
 
KyFritz05GTO's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 143


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by bohnman...View Post
Like some one above said did you change your tial lights? do you have a bulb out? is your T/C working ok?

Yeah traction works fine no issues there. I did change the bulbs but the problem was there to start. I replaced the bulbs with 2 silvania's becuase they were miss matched when I bought it. I knew these cars were picky when it came to that so I made sure everything was correct. Ill try this brake light switch from what im understanding is that really the only funtions of that switch on a manual is to turn the brake light off when the peddal is extended and to turn the cruise off when it is depressed. I did read a TSB on how to adjust it for this reason so I may as well replace it for the cost of it.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 08:21 AM   #11
bohnman
Horse Power = $$$
LS1GTO.com Sponsor
 
bohnman's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 3,244


Offline
Send a message via Yahoo to bohnman
I think the cruise should work with the switch disconnected. You just will not have brake lights


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 10:07 AM   #12
KyFritz05GTO
Registered User
 
KyFritz05GTO's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 143


Offline
The switch looks pretty simple. I just pulled it apart its basicly two connections ones closed when the other one is open and the opposit when the sitch is pressed. Im going to try it out today it was only $8 at employee cost. Ill let you know what happens.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 10:09 AM   #13
Riddler_GTO
Registered User
 
Riddler_GTO's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 144


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyFritz05GTO...View Post
The switch looks pretty simple. I just pulled it apart its basicly two connections ones closed when the other one is open and the opposit when the sitch is pressed. Im going to try it out today it was only $8 at employee cost. Ill let you know what happens.

What kind of switch is it? I had to add a load resistor to my tails to get CC &TC working again.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 10:18 AM   #14
KyFritz05GTO
Registered User
 
KyFritz05GTO's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 143


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riddler_GTO...View Post
What kind of switch is it? I had to add a load resistor to my tails to get CC &TC working again.

Are you running LED's or just normal bulbs and tail lights?

Its a brake light/ cruise control switch at least thats what the description says it is.
GM Part #12450036

Its the switch your brake pedal hits when its at a rest position.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-20-2012, 10:21 AM   #15
Riddler_GTO
Registered User
 
Riddler_GTO's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 144


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyFritz05GTO...View Post
Are you running LED's or just normal bulbs and tail lights?

Its a brake light/ cruise control switch at least thats what the description says it is.
GM Part #12450036

Its the switch your brake pedal hits when its at a rest position.

I am running LEDs. Yeah I added the load resistor in the back near the tail lights.

http://www.superbrightleds.com/morei...r-kit/190/831/

The switch might be what you need if your tails are still stock.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2012, 09:40 AM   #16
KyFritz05GTO
Registered User
 
KyFritz05GTO's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 143


Offline
I FIXED IT!!!!! It happen to be the switch needing adjustment. I replaced it anyway since I had a new one. Thanks for the help.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the LS1GTO.com Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:13 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003-2008, LS1GTO.com
Site Banner Design 2005-2007, Cylosoft

LS1GTO.com is not affiliated with General Motors Corp.