SD tune w/ MAF? - LS1GTO.com Forums

Vendors


Go Back   LS1GTO.com Forums > GTO Tech > LS1/LS2 Engine Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12-16-2012, 11:38 AM   #1
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
SD tune w/ MAF?

Just got back today and got to drive my car today with the new setup. Car is awesome but due to rain I couldn't have too much fun. Over the phone the shop told me they did a SD tune on the car but I noticed the stock MAF was still on. I know usually the MAF goes away and a single coupler is used. I guess my question is, is this normal and would this be holding back some power here? I plan to buy a new coupler soon and ditch the MAF.

Here's a pic...
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-16-2012, 12:08 PM   #2
St.Mary
Because race car
 
St.Mary's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 2,770


Offline
Send a message via AIM to St.Mary
What did you actually pay the shop to do? Build the car or just tune it?

If you just paid them to tune it, than they probably didn't want to mess with your intake setup and just disabled the MAF.

If they did a bunch of other work, including the intake, than yea it's weird to see the MAF on there with an SD tune.

Did they actually say they did an SD tune or they tuned the VE tables?

Maybe they were just lazy and used the MAF for intake air temps instead of running a separate break out sensor.
__________________
I'd rather be driving my Turbo Charged, Rocket Powered Crap Can

2005 QSM - TC78 Front Mount Build - 12.6@116 full weight, M6, street tire, 6psi
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 12:10 PM   #3
batboy
cave dweller
 
batboy's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 7,237


Offline
Yeah, on the 05/06 you need to do the IAT relocate.
__________________
2004 torrid red with red interior A4 GTO (1 of 499)

TR-230/236 cam/TEA ported Trick Flow 215 heads/4" CAI/100mm MAF/ported FAST 90/Kooks/Magnaflow
Performabuilt trans/3200 stall/Truetrac/Gforce1320 half shafts, stubs, CF driveshaft/SSR wheels/SNL tune
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 01:14 PM   #4
andrewzpsu
Complete Street Performance
LS1GTO.com Sponsor
 
andrewzpsu's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 4,681


Offline
Send a message via AIM to andrewzpsu
And for an SD tune, you need to do a fast acting IAT sensor for consistency's sake. The IAT temps play a dramatic role in fueling - so heat soak can cause the car to run lean.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 01:47 PM   #5
DoomDevil
~СЛАВА ГЕРОЯМ~
 
DoomDevil's Avatar
 
Lumina SS

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 243
Premium Member


Offline
Looks to me like a case of "fake boobs"! An SD tune with a MAF still connected! Now I've seen everything!

I'd check with them what the hell is my MAF doing there connected?!
__________________

96 Suzuki X-90
03 Lumina SS Coupe (stock "cat-less" & "built trans!")
03 Lumina SS Coupe (393 whp, LS1, bolt-on's and cam)
07 Toyota Aurion (270 hp and a 6-spd AT)
12 VW Tiguan Highline Sport (for driving the wife and my little girls!)
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 01:52 PM   #6
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Quote:
Originally Posted by St.Mary...View Post
What did you actually pay the shop to do? Build the car or just tune it?

They built the entire stroker motor that went in and tuned it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by St.Mary...View Post
Did they actually say they did an SD tune or they tuned the VE tables?

They said it was SD tuned before I got the car back. I never picked it up. I returned from a deployment today and the car was delivered to my house about a month ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewzpsu...View Post
And for an SD tune, you need to do a fast acting IAT sensor for consistency's sake. The IAT temps play a dramatic role in fueling - so heat soak can cause the car to run lean.

I figured I would have to order one since the MAF reads the IAT. I will be ordering that and a new coupling and then getting a retune soon. Thanks Andrew. Wish I was closer to CSP since you have already tuned mine before.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 03:03 PM   #7
SCyjGTO
Unleaded Regular Member
 
SCyjGTO's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Have no Idea
Posts: 1,739
Premium Member


Offline
Order the SVEDE break out kit , The intake already has a hole for relocating it.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 03:16 PM   #8
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCyjGTO...View Post
Order the SVEDE break out kit , The intake already has a hole for relocating it.

Will do but I figured a hole needed to be drilled in the side of the intake.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 03:35 PM   #9
SCyjGTO
Unleaded Regular Member
 
SCyjGTO's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Have no Idea
Posts: 1,739
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by randy555...View Post
Will do but I figured a hole needed to be drilled in the side of the intake.

Mine had one with a plug in it on the drivers side of the intake. Pulled out plug, inserted sensor .
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 03:42 PM   #10
sergo
Bamanana
 
sergo's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ovilla redenbacher, tx
Posts: 8,515


Offline
Welcome back. Hope you be some good weather to enjoy the car with.
__________________
Sasha - pretty big, very bright and damn loud. Heart by SNL, supported by Lovells, Monsterized and built by me.
All stock sheet metal.

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-16-2012, 03:46 PM   #11
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Quote:
Originally Posted by sergo...View Post
Welcome back. Hope you be some good weather to enjoy the car with.

Thanks! And not really...its been raining all day.

Now that I'm back I'm just trying to square away some issues like the MAF and some new tires.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 04:31 AM   #12
torrid06gto
Registered User
 
torrid06gto's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 154


Offline
see if they unpinned the maf wires or cut them somewhere the iat is in the maf on the ls2.......i went sd wtih mine i just used the breakout harness with a external iat and ditched my maf.....unplug the maf and see how it runs that will tell ya what they did
__________________

Torrid Red on Red 06' M6
Advanced Induction 226/234 Cam, FAST 90 422rwhp/397rwtq
12.7 @ 115 blazing out of the hole like grandma with a 2.28 60' at a featherweight 4085lbs

95 LTx Camaro
386c.i., Advanced Induction Heads and Cam -9.91 @ 134.77 Naturally Aspirated 3300#
2010-2011 LTX Shootout Mod NA Champion....GMHTP past two spring issues....
MVMotorsports Engine Building and Electrical Design
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 05:09 AM   #13
Steel Chicken
Banned
 
Steel Chicken's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Magrathea
Posts: 19,999
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by torrid06gto...View Post
see if they unpinned the maf wires or cut them somewhere the iat is in the maf on the ls2.......i went sd wtih mine i just used the breakout harness with a external iat and ditched my maf.....unplug the maf and see how it runs that will tell ya what they did

Yes, I am sure they cut the MAF wires for no reason. No, he shouldn't unplug the MAF until he has the IAT relocated otherwise it will run like shit.

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2012, 05:54 PM   #14
Raysadude
Registered User
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: edmond,ok
Posts: 35


Offline
Im pretty sure you can have the SD tune with the maf on, tuner could just set the tune not reading for the maf.

However its kind of defeat the purpose of having the sd tune because most of the people that have sd tune they take off the maf to get rid of any restriction in the intake
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 02:06 AM   #15
randy555
>__<
 
randy555's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Premium Member


Offline
Send a message via AIM to randy555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raysadude...View Post
Im pretty sure you can have the SD tune with the maf on, tuner could just set the tune not reading for the maf.

However its kind of defeat the purpose of having the sd tune because most of the people that have sd tune they take off the maf to get rid of any restriction in the intake

Exactly what I thought really. The shop wasn't the best to deal with and I think I will be going somewhere else for work.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 04:01 AM   #16
Raysadude
Registered User
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: edmond,ok
Posts: 35


Offline
IIRC you can try to unplug the maf connector while the car running and see if the idle change any. If your tuner still use the maf the car would idle crazy
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 04:03 AM   #17
camarochevy1970
The Wulff
 
camarochevy1970's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,809


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raysadude...View Post
IIRC you can try to unplug the maf connector while the car running and see if the idle change any. If your tuner still use the maf the car would idle crazy

If the IAT sensor is the MAF is still being used, the car will run like shit anyway, so this isn't a valid test until the breakout harness is put in
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerX1214...View Post
What fun is a car if you're not driving like an asshole 24/7

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 02:01 PM   #18
St.Mary
Because race car
 
St.Mary's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 2,770


Offline
Send a message via AIM to St.Mary
Even better, leave the MAF hooked up electrically but disconnect it from the intake tract (so take off two hose clamps, pull off MAF, but leave connector plugged in). You'll still have your IAT input if that's what he's actually doing. If the MAF is still being used, I'd think you'd get a CEL because the MAF frequency would be zero at idle. If no CEL, you've got SD.

Or you could just call the tuner and say wtf....

I guess if the car is running ok than it doesn't really matter what you have, does it?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-18-2012, 02:07 PM   #19
redtan
Registered User
 
redtan's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,443


Offline
Quote:
Looks to me like a case of "fake boobs"! An SD tune with a MAF still connected! Now I've seen everything!

I'd check with them what the hell is my MAF doing there connected?!

It's nothing like that at all, it's an SD tune with the MAF failed but still connected as to use the internal IAT sensor. That's why it's connected.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transmission Perform...View Post
The cylinder heads became deformed because the air filter was so dirty they couldnt handle all the build up of air and oil coming through the air filter and the throttle body so i tried replacing the air tube with a cold air intake and i think the extra power blew out the cylinder heads and they crashed through valley pan into the crank. Then the crank spun hard and threw the pistons up to hard to cause a misfire

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 04:03 AM   #20
Raysadude
Registered User
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: edmond,ok
Posts: 35


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarochevy1970...View Post
If the IAT sensor is the MAF is still being used, the car will run like shit anyway, so this isn't a valid test until the breakout harness is put in

Good point.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 04:50 AM   #21
torrid06gto
Registered User
 
torrid06gto's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 154


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steel Chicken...View Post
Yes, I am sure they cut the MAF wires for no reason. No, he shouldn't unplug the MAF until he has the IAT relocated otherwise it will run like shit.


nice sarcastic answer but ive seen dumber shit before than a cut maf wire by a moronic tuner........as for unplugging the maf it will tell him if its indeed not an SD tune, the car will throw a code and there will be a blatent change in running more than a missing IAT for the density calc....so next time you basically call me an idiot please think

Last edited by torrid06gto; 12-19-2012 at 05:00 AM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 05:03 AM   #22
Steel Chicken
Banned
 
Steel Chicken's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Magrathea
Posts: 19,999
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by torrid06gto...View Post
nice sarcastic answer but ive seen dumber shit before than a cut maf wire by a moronic tuner........as for unplugging the maf it will tell him if its indeed not an SD tune, the car will throw a code and there will be a blatent change in running more than a missing IAT for the density calc....so next time you basically call me an idiot please think

....thinking.....



....thinking.....



....thinking.....



Idiot.

  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 07:33 AM   #23
torrid06gto
Registered User
 
torrid06gto's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 154


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steel Chicken...View Post
....thinking.....



....thinking.....



....thinking.....



Idiot.




thinking........thinking........thinking.......... ."oh shit i dont know what to say ill just call him an idiot".........

happy holidays
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 07:37 AM   #24
Steel Chicken
Banned
 
Steel Chicken's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Magrathea
Posts: 19,999
Premium Member


Offline
smurf you too very much!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 08:15 AM   #25
slammin86
...brah
 
slammin86's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rogersville MO
Posts: 8,310


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by torrid06gto...View Post
nice sarcastic answer but ive seen dumber shit before than a cut maf wire by a moronic tuner........as for unplugging the maf it will tell him if its indeed not an SD tune, the car will throw a code and there will be a blatent change in running more than a missing IAT for the density calc....so next time you basically call me an idiot please think

idiot
__________________
04 M6 GTO
Mods: HP Tuners
SD tuned by me
10.9 @ 132 w/ 1.8 60 HAHALOL

99 Civic SI
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 08:16 AM   #26
slammin86
...brah
 
slammin86's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rogersville MO
Posts: 8,310


Offline
What if he removes the maf from the intake track and submurges it in a bucket of ice water. That should help with heatsoak.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 08:50 AM   #27
torrid06gto
Registered User
 
torrid06gto's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 154


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by slammin86...View Post
idiot

thank you mr. ethug
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 10:55 AM   #28
mike27408
MotorWrecker
 
mike27408's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro
Posts: 323


Offline
Ive had that done before...they disable the MAF to SD tune it then reenable it for IAT readings etc...your fine but caspers or somebody can make you a breakout harness that will allow you to remove the MAF meter,install an IAT sensor and have them adjust the tune for the changes..Thats what I just did
ask them(tuner) if a Vector Motorsports one will work...I have one i never installed but i think it has a plug for MAF and IAT plug and IAT sensor with it...if you tuner thinks they can ditch the MAF all together and make this harness work Ill give it to you
__________________
2005 GTO QSM,418" NaturallyAspirated,Bullet Racing cam,243 heads,6speed,Kooks 1-3/4" headers w/cats,matchported FAST 102,NW 102mm,3.73 gearsPB in 1/8th 7.76@97 on Firestones with 1.97 60'
Tick Performance tuned
522 RWHP/501 RWTQ

Last edited by mike27408; 12-19-2012 at 12:01 PM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 11:04 AM   #29
MuhThugga
Banned
 
MuhThugga's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hockessin, DE
Posts: 10,078


Offline
Why do you need a break-out harness? Just terminate the MAF wires and buy yourself a GM IAT sensor pig tail and solder it on.

2005 GTO
Pin Wire Color Circuit No. Function
A BK 2759 Low Reference
B BK 472 IAT Sensor Signal
C BK/RD 450 Sensor Ground
D PK 439 Sensor Voltage Supply
E BN/WH 492 MAF Sensor Signal

You need low reference and IAT sensor signal wires. The rest can be terminated.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-19-2012, 11:09 AM   #30
Steel Chicken
Banned
 
Steel Chicken's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Magrathea
Posts: 19,999
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuhThugga...View Post
Why do you need a break-out harness? Just terminate the MAF wires and buy yourself a GM IAT sensor pig tail and solder it on.

So you don't ruin the harness and create possible wiring issues down the road. Or in case you want to go back.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the LS1GTO.com Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:07 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003-2008, LS1GTO.com
Site Banner Design 2005-2007, Cylosoft

LS1GTO.com is not affiliated with General Motors Corp.