LS1GTO.com Forums

LS1GTO.com Forums (https://www.ls1gto.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tech Lounge (https://www.ls1gto.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   IAT Relocate w/ factory air intake (https://www.ls1gto.com/forums/showthread.php?t=842915)

blk00ss 05-24-2019 04:21 PM

IAT Relocate w/ factory air intake
 
Anyone do an IAT relocate using the factory LS2 air intake? I can find tons of info of people doing them with aftermarket ones, but nothing with people keeping the factory setup. pics?

Logan71 05-28-2019 09:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blk00ss (Post 21582313)
Anyone do an IAT relocate using the factory LS2 air intake? I can find tons of info of people doing them with aftermarket ones, but nothing with people keeping the factory setup. pics?

I dont have pics, as since I did this I've removed the factory box.

When I had it, I drilled a hold in the front of the actual box (side facing the drivers headlight, not the lid)

..and used a rubber grommet that would both fit the slightly-oversized hole and the IAT sensor itself. You might have the best luck if you find a grommet that fits the IAT sensor, and then measure/drill afterwards, so get it right the first time. It would suck to have a grommet installed that the IAT won't fit in.

Nothubertjfarnsworth 05-28-2019 09:58 AM

in retrospect, i don't think there's much point in doing a breakout unless you have a fast-reacting thermistor.

AFAMET 06-09-2019 06:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Logan71 (Post 21583001)
I dont have pics, as since I did this I've removed the factory box.

When I had it, I drilled a hold in the front of the actual box (side facing the drivers headlight, not the lid)

..and used a rubber grommet that would both fit the slightly-oversized hole and the IAT sensor itself. You might have the best luck if you find a grommet that fits the IAT sensor, and then measure/drill afterwards, so get it right the first time. It would suck to have a grommet installed that the IAT won't fit in.

this

AFAMET 06-09-2019 06:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nothubertjfarnsworth (Post 21583005)
in retrospect, i don't think there's much point in doing a breakout unless you have a fast-reacting thermistor.

and this

Ronin Concealment 06-11-2019 04:00 PM

I did a relocation of my IAT with a fast-reacting thermistor into the side of the plastic intake on the side of the air box

blk00ss 07-02-2019 06:17 AM

So no need for breakout? Just basically relocate the IAT to factory box using a grommet? Will the IAT reach that far?

ThatSilverGoat 07-02-2019 07:36 AM

http://i.imgur.com/TI4Sarv.jpg

You will need a breakout harness for the iat sensor. I did it on my car a while back. Drill a hole in the front of the airbox and put a grommet to hold the sensor in place. I can't comment on seeing any improvement in performance or iat temps since my car is stock, but I figured it wouldn't hurt.

Here's a picture.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.