P0601 - Page 2 - LS1GTO.com Forums

Vendors


Go Back   LS1GTO.com Forums > GTO Tech > Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 07-12-2019, 08:27 PM   #31
Nothubertjfarnsworth
ಠ_ಠ
 
Nothubertjfarnsworth's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NWI
Posts: 34,113
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by 72firebird455...View Post
What are you rewriting? Other than disabling the Vats, what else is being changed?

the ECM software is broken up into segments.

one is for the operating system, another for the calibration, another for engine control, etc etc. some are not written, like the slave OS on the E40.

not sure what segments are written when you flash an E40, but OS and the engine calibration are two of them.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2019, 10:13 AM   #32
FSAE_Junkie
Registered User
 
FSAE_Junkie's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville/Cincinnati
Posts: 574


Offline
Well, as I mentioned in the other thread I have going on this, I discovered I actually had and beat a P0601 several years ago:

https://www.ls1gto.com/forums/showpo...4&postcount=11

It's been awhile, but I recall now even then calling a local shop to see about getting an ECU replacement (thinking this was the cause of my no start problem at the time). I also recall doing a full re-write at the time, and then finding my switch related issue that was causing my no start issue just a few days later. So, the re-write basically fixed my problem for almost 5 years.

Yeah, unfortunately I'm not sure exactly what is and isn't re-written in this process, but it must have overwritten whatever the problem area was. I'm actually not sure I full understand what this checksum error really means and how it can just 'go bad' sitting around and then be temporarily fixed with software. I'm sure this isn't a cure all or is just prolonging the inevitable, but maybe this will help someone.
__________________
GTO#2: 2005 Manual 4l80e - Forged LS2 - Ported 243's - F1A - E85

GTO #1: 2006 M6 - SOLD
Cam/LT's/Slicks
440 rwhp/407 rwtq
11.95 @ 115.1 - 1.68 60'
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2019, 11:05 AM   #33
Nothubertjfarnsworth
ಠ_ಠ
 
Nothubertjfarnsworth's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NWI
Posts: 34,113
Premium Member


Offline
I would think it's theoretically feasible to run an 06 ECM in an 05. you simply must have the 06 specific OS and slave OS installed. Disable vats and make sure the vin matches that of your car and it should work.

i have a spare 06 ECM i haven't tried yet, but it did take my tune, a vin change, and didn't brick, so i have that going for me, which is nice.

I also wonder if turning off VATS would affect the link between the modules, perhaps circumventing the issue.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-13-2019, 08:48 PM   #34
72firebird455
Registered User
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gilbertsville, PA
Posts: 131


Offline
What options do I have to disable VATS?
__________________
Kooks LT headers, high flow cats, custom exhaust, magnaflow mufflers, Vararam intake, Pedder's bushings/strut mounts/rear springs, MGW-P short shifter, Dyno tuned by Complete Street Performance 380HP 377FT-LB
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-13-2019, 09:24 PM   #35
Nothubertjfarnsworth
ಠ_ಠ
 
Nothubertjfarnsworth's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NWI
Posts: 34,113
Premium Member


Offline
hptuners.

it's just a hairbrained theory which has no basis, but
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2019, 05:59 PM   #36
72firebird455
Registered User
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gilbertsville, PA
Posts: 131


Offline
I guess it can’t hurt anything to try turning off the VATS first.

Is it something that I could pay someone who has hptuners to do it on my car?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-14-2019, 08:21 PM   #37
Nothubertjfarnsworth
ಠ_ಠ
 
Nothubertjfarnsworth's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NWI
Posts: 34,113
Premium Member


Offline
they'd have to use some credits, so if they are willing to, sure.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2019, 06:27 AM   #38
SkiPopeye36
FPFQ Herder
 
SkiPopeye36's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7,950
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothubertjfarnsworth...View Post
I would think it's theoretically feasible to run an 06 ECM in an 05. you simply must have the 06 specific OS and slave OS installed. Disable vats and make sure the vin matches that of your car and it should work.

i have a spare 06 ECM i haven't tried yet, but it did take my tune, a vin change, and didn't brick, so i have that going for me, which is nice.

I also wonder if turning off VATS would affect the link between the modules, perhaps circumventing the issue.

Believe that's what a company on ebay is touting; you can use an 06 ECM in an 05 as long as VATS is disabled. They're also saying that you cannot reprogram (tune) the ECU though, which is probably due to the OS and VATS possibly getting overwritten.
__________________
2005 M6 GTO
CGM | CCW SP550 | Pedders Xa | Kooks | Spintech | Ed Curtis Cam | FAST 92 | Duspeed | GMM | Street Slayer Clutch | Billet Prototypes | JHP Pod, Spoiler, Steering Wheel | GTOG8TA SAP Grilles | Cold Case
2004 M6 GTO
IBM | 05-06 Hood | Holden VZ 18's | Pedders | Lovells | 05-06 Calipers | Kooks | Spintech | Svede | Billet Prototypes | HSV Steering Wheel | WCS SAP Grilles | Mavman Spoiler | VX Tails | Mishimoto | Leatherseats Interior
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Yesterday, 06:38 PM   #39
72firebird455
Registered User
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gilbertsville, PA
Posts: 131


Offline
Can or would a gm dealer disable the VATS? If I take it in to have the computers synced and suggest disabling the VATS as a fix.

Last edited by 72firebird455; Yesterday at 06:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old Today, 12:59 AM   #40
SkiPopeye36
FPFQ Herder
 
SkiPopeye36's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7,950
Premium Member


Offline
Highly doubt a dealer would disable VATS.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the LS1GTO.com Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live (must be accurate to IP location, if wrong you may be permanently banned)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:02 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.