IAT Relocate w/ factory air intake - LS1GTO.com Forums

Vendors


Go Back   LS1GTO.com Forums > GTO Tech > Tech Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-24-2019, 04:21 PM   #1
blk00ss
Registered User
 
blk00ss's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 195


Offline
IAT Relocate w/ factory air intake

Anyone do an IAT relocate using the factory LS2 air intake? I can find tons of info of people doing them with aftermarket ones, but nothing with people keeping the factory setup. pics?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2019, 09:56 AM   #2
Logan71
Registered User
 
Logan71's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 631


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by blk00ss...View Post
Anyone do an IAT relocate using the factory LS2 air intake? I can find tons of info of people doing them with aftermarket ones, but nothing with people keeping the factory setup. pics?

I dont have pics, as since I did this I've removed the factory box.

When I had it, I drilled a hold in the front of the actual box (side facing the drivers headlight, not the lid)

..and used a rubber grommet that would both fit the slightly-oversized hole and the IAT sensor itself. You might have the best luck if you find a grommet that fits the IAT sensor, and then measure/drill afterwards, so get it right the first time. It would suck to have a grommet installed that the IAT won't fit in.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-28-2019, 09:58 AM   #3
Nothubertjfarnsworth
ಠ_ಠ
 
Nothubertjfarnsworth's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NWI
Posts: 34,005
Premium Member


Offline
in retrospect, i don't think there's much point in doing a breakout unless you have a fast-reacting thermistor.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-09-2019, 06:06 AM   #4
AFAMET
Registered User
 
AFAMET's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MILWAUKEE, WI
Posts: 480


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Logan71...View Post
I dont have pics, as since I did this I've removed the factory box.

When I had it, I drilled a hold in the front of the actual box (side facing the drivers headlight, not the lid)

..and used a rubber grommet that would both fit the slightly-oversized hole and the IAT sensor itself. You might have the best luck if you find a grommet that fits the IAT sensor, and then measure/drill afterwards, so get it right the first time. It would suck to have a grommet installed that the IAT won't fit in.

this
__________________
06 QSM A4 Diablosport tune and relocated fast acting IAT, drag bags, M/T DR'S DSS 1 piece
[email protected] on a 1.91 60ft
Local DA was 26 feet
I did it!!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2019, 06:06 AM   #5
AFAMET
Registered User
 
AFAMET's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MILWAUKEE, WI
Posts: 480


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothubertjfarnsworth...View Post
in retrospect, i don't think there's much point in doing a breakout unless you have a fast-reacting thermistor.

and this
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019, 04:00 PM   #6
Ronin Concealment
Registered User
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: May 2015
Location: The Secret City
Posts: 202


Offline
I did a relocation of my IAT with a fast-reacting thermistor into the side of the plastic intake on the side of the air box
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the LS1GTO.com Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live (must be accurate to IP location, if wrong you may be permanently banned)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:40 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.