NJ emissions bullshit - LS1GTO.com Forums

Vendors


Go Back   LS1GTO.com Forums > Regional Forums > North East

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 06-10-2019, 09:16 AM   #1
DangerNoodle
The battle of wits has begun.
 
DangerNoodle's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,255


Offline
NJ emissions bullshit

My GTO's last inspection was May of 2016. I decided I should get it inspected since I can finally drive it.

I have now failed inspection 3 times.

o2 sensors not ready
o2 sensors heater not ready


I searched and read previous people that had this issue, but nobody ever bothers to post up a follow up with a solution.

I did the "drive cycle". Now I'm driving around with a rejected sticker to put unnecessary miles on the car, so that it can pass the bullshit emission inspection.

GTO is a 2004, manual swapped, SD tuned, Kooks LTs, Kooks hi-flow cats.
Is there a trick to this I'm not aware of. Should I drive it every day for a week (fingers crossed it lasts that long) and do the proper "drive cycle" each day?

Also, I don't have A/C. My condenser lines were mangled during my first cam install. (The shop and I settle things years ago, but I haven't bothered getting a new condenser.)

smurfing ridiculous
__________________
Ha ha! You fool! You fell victim to one of the classic blunders - The most famous of which is "never get involved in a land war in Asia" - but only slightly less well-known is this: "Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line"! Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! Ha ha ha...

Last edited by DangerNoodle; 06-10-2019 at 10:31 AM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-10-2019, 09:27 AM   #2
superchargedgp
The Grinch
 
superchargedgp's Avatar
 
Other Holden/HSV

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 3,021


Offline
Pm me
__________________
2015 KIA SPORTAGE
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-10-2019, 04:11 PM   #3
Jailor
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 301


Offline
I had my tuner shut them off with LS1 edit software.

Passed with flying colors at inspection time.
__________________
04 yj m6 mp 112, 2.7 pulley, meth, vhp custom cam 232-240 585-585,1.8 yella terras, 480/491 dyno jet monster stage 2 Best et [email protected]
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-10-2019, 07:11 PM   #4
JSRacing
Registered User
 
JSRacing's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 165


Offline
My O2s were turned off as well and I passed. I'm due again in September, hopefully it passes again.
__________________
'05 YJ M6
X-air OTR Filter
Kooks signature series stepped headers
Kooks catted mids
Bassani catback
SLP 25% UDP
CSP ported intake, TB
Summit LS Pro Stage 2 Cam
Tuned by EFX Tuning
Hinson Engine/Trans Mount, Shifter
VRM V710 Black
Hotchkis Sway Bars
Whiteline/Eibach Poly Bushings
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019, 04:49 AM   #5
GGGGOAT
CCGTO
 
GGGGOAT's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Severn, MD
Posts: 1,016
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jailor...View Post
I had my tuner shut them off with LS1 edit software.

Passed with flying colors at inspection time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSRacing...View Post
My O2s were turned off as well and I passed. I'm due again in September, hopefully it passes again.

Same hear. HPTuners, turned them off and even passed w/o cats.
__________________
'06 GTO (M6) PBM w/ Red Interior, (1 of 417)
403 ci, N/A
tuned by a good friend
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019, 07:46 AM   #6
GT_OH_NO
Registered User
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 55


Offline
Same my rears are turned off. CSP should be able to help you with that. If not PM me i might be able to help out.
__________________
06 IMB a4 6.0
Corsa sport cat back
k&n intake
bc Coilovers
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019, 05:22 PM   #7
SkiPopeye36
FPFQ Herder
 
SkiPopeye36's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7,944
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jailor...View Post
I had my tuner shut them off with LS1 edit software.

Passed with flying colors at inspection time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSRacing...View Post
My O2s were turned off as well and I passed. I'm due again in September, hopefully it passes again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGGGOAT...View Post
Same hear. HPTuners, turned them off and even passed w/o cats.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT_OH_NO...View Post
Same my rears are turned off. CSP should be able to help you with that. If not PM me i might be able to help out.

Your REAR 02’s were set to not report, which is a separate issue from the IM monitors. Those tests can sometimes take forever to complete, but if not, you can temporarily set the ones that will not complete to not report in HP Tuners and they will complete immediately upon key on. I wouldn’t leave them like that, but it can be done in a pinch if you’re tired of driving all over the place to get them to set.
__________________
2005 M6 GTO
CGM | CCW SP550 | Pedders Xa | Kooks | Spintech | Ed Curtis Cam | FAST 92 | Duspeed | GMM | Street Slayer Clutch | Billet Prototypes | JHP Pod, Spoiler, Steering Wheel | GTOG8TA SAP Grilles | Cold Case
2004 M6 GTO
IBM | 05-06 Hood | Holden VZ 18's | Pedders | Lovells | 05-06 Calipers | Kooks | Spintech | Svede | Billet Prototypes | HSV Steering Wheel | WCS SAP Grilles | Mavman Spoiler | VX Tails | Mishimoto | Leatherseats Interior
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-11-2019, 07:28 PM   #8
superchargedgp
The Grinch
 
superchargedgp's Avatar
 
Other Holden/HSV

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 3,021


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkiPopeye36...View Post
Your REAR 02’s were set to not report, which is a separate issue from the IM monitors. Those tests can sometimes take forever to complete, but if not, you can temporarily set the ones that will not complete to not report in HP Tuners and they will complete immediately upon key on. I wouldn’t leave them like that, but it can be done in a pinch if you’re tired of driving all over the place to get them to set.

Exactly. This thread is not about rear sensors. Its the sd tune issue due to maf being disabled.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 05:18 AM   #9
DangerNoodle
The battle of wits has begun.
 
DangerNoodle's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,255


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkiPopeye36...View Post
Your REAR 02’s were set to not report, which is a separate issue from the IM monitors. Those tests can sometimes take forever to complete, but if not, you can temporarily set the ones that will not complete to not report in HP Tuners and they will complete immediately upon key on. I wouldn’t leave them like that, but it can be done in a pinch if you’re tired of driving all over the place to get them to set.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superchargedgp...View Post
Exactly. This thread is not about rear sensors. Its the sd tune issue due to maf being disabled.

Gotcha so either I drive around alot and keep doing the drive cycle idle or use HPTuners to temporarily set them to not report so the auto pass, then change them back so they'll eventually report over x miles of driving.
NOTE *Speed Density Tuned* so these will never set via driving around.

I do appreciate the info.

Last edited by DangerNoodle; 06-12-2019 at 09:58 AM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 05:52 AM   #10
superchargedgp
The Grinch
 
superchargedgp's Avatar
 
Other Holden/HSV

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 3,021


Offline
Driving around wont make them set. Like i told you over text. Its maf based
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 07:09 AM   #11
Nothubertjfarnsworth
ಠ_ಠ
 
Nothubertjfarnsworth's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NWI
Posts: 34,105
Premium Member


Offline
wait, so if you use an SD tune, those O2 tests won't run because you've forced the MAF to fail in the tune?

SMurf.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 07:41 AM   #12
LS2-GTO
1 of 40,757
 
LS2-GTO's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6,106
Premium Member


Offline
I did this and passed NYS inspection:
I dont remember if I turned off COT. I should probably check.

I followed this (from):

To disable COT and the Rear O2s:

Engine, Fuel Control, COT, Lean Cruise, Cat Over Temp Protection:
COT - Set to Disabled
Engine Diag, General, Catalyst:

Catalyst Test - Set to Disabled
Post O2, Post O2 Test - Set to Disabled

Engine Diag, DTCs:
Set all the below DTCs to Error Mode "3 - No Error reported".

P0036
P0054
P0056
P0060

P0137
P0138
P0140
P0141
P0157
P0158
P0160
P0161

P0420
P0430

P2A01
P2A04

Still had to drive some miles for all tests to be performed.
__________________
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:28 AM   #13
SkiPopeye36
FPFQ Herder
 
SkiPopeye36's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7,944
Premium Member


Offline
Crap, I missed the SD tune part. Those monitors will never set in an SD tune unless the ones that are not completing are set to "no error reported".

Don't believe there is any other way around it.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:30 AM   #14
superchargedgp
The Grinch
 
superchargedgp's Avatar
 
Other Holden/HSV

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 3,021


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothubertjfarnsworth...View Post
wait, so if you use an SD tune, those O2 tests won't run because you've forced the MAF to fail in the tune?

SMurf.

Exactly. When the maf code is set to force sd tune it prevents monitor readiness. One thing follows another. Maf is part of emissions system so it it sets a code it wont complete the cycle
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:32 AM   #15
Nothubertjfarnsworth
ಠ_ಠ
 
Nothubertjfarnsworth's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NWI
Posts: 34,105
Premium Member


Offline
guess i'm never going SD then. shoot.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:33 AM   #16
superchargedgp
The Grinch
 
superchargedgp's Avatar
 
Other Holden/HSV

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 3,021


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkiPopeye36...View Post
Crap, I missed the SD tune part. Those monitors will never set in an SD tune unless the ones that are not completing are set to "no error reported".

Don't believe there is any other way around it.

Correct. Thats why i have to switch between two tunes. You do not want no error reported on your front 02 sensors.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:34 AM   #17
superchargedgp
The Grinch
 
superchargedgp's Avatar
 
Other Holden/HSV

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 3,021


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nothubertjfarnsworth...View Post
guess i'm never going SD then. shoot.

If you have hp tuners its not an issue.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 08:40 AM   #18
SkiPopeye36
FPFQ Herder
 
SkiPopeye36's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7,944
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by superchargedgp...View Post
Correct. Thats why i have to switch between two tunes. You do not want no error reported on your front 02 sensors.

Yeah, that would just be a temporary solution to pass the emissions test, but you'd want to change it back immediately afterwards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superchargedgp...View Post
If you have hp tuners its not an issue.

Yup. Easy to go SD if you have HP Tuners and/or are exempt from emissions testing.

Have to pass the OBDII emissions tests each year and don't have easy access to HP Tuners? Don't even think about going SD.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 10:01 AM   #19
DangerNoodle
The battle of wits has begun.
 
DangerNoodle's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,255


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by superchargedgp...View Post
If you have hp tuners its not an issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkiPopeye36...View Post
Yeah, that would just be a temporary solution to pass the emissions test, but you'd want to change it back immediately afterwards.

Yup. Easy to go SD if you have HP Tuners and/or are exempt from emissions testing.

Have to pass the OBDII emissions tests each year and don't have easy access to HP Tuners? Don't even think about going SD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superchargedgp...View Post
Driving around wont make them set. Like i told you over text. Its maf based

Yeah I go to CSP for all my tuning needs. Looks like I need to buy HP-Tuners.

Any tips for beginners before I go out and buy it? Where should I buy it from, what should I buy, etc.
Any good documentation that won't put me in a deep coma for 8 months?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 12:42 PM   #20
lejambcr
My other car has wings
 
lejambcr's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Benson, NC
Posts: 313
Premium Member


Offline
I bought mine from HP Tuners directly, I don't think they distribute to anyone else? Bought the MPVI2, did not spend the extra $$$ for Pro. Bought 2 credits so that I could tune my GTO. There is tons of stuff on the internet on howto. I learned slowly over the course of about 3 months Started with the simple stuff and added complexity. Sometimes you just need someone to walk you thru the basics in 10-15mins. Since I was born and raised in NJ (might explain a few things) I would be happy to help you get started via some phone discussion.


Step 1: Download the latest version of HP Tuner Suite from their website. You will get the VCM Tuner Editor and VCM Logger/Scanner
Step 2: Find a Stock 2004 GTO (I assume that's your year) tune that someone has posted online. Better yet I'll attach one for you to play with.
Step 3: Read that tune into the VCM Tuner Editor and start playing with it. You can do a lot of learning without spending a nickel.
Step 4: Once you purchase the MPVI2 from HP Tuners you'll be able to read the current tune from your car and start comparing it to stock to see what changes where made to convert it to SD, your tuner might even be kind enough to email you the latest tune he built for you.
Step 5: Concentrate on searching the internet on what settings need to be in the ENGINE DIAGNOSTICS section of the tune to fix your O2 trouble code problem.
Attached Files
File Type: hpt Stock2004GTOM6.hpt (256.5 KB, 12 views)
__________________
2006 M6 BOM 39K miles
Kooks Long Tubes, catted mids thru Magnaflow Mufflers
Cam Motion Stage 2 Cam 0.553" lift, 214/220 at 0.050"
XAir OTRCAI, FAST 102 Intake
Monster Level 2 Clutch Package, MGW-P shifter
Carbon Fiber 1 piece DSS Driveshaft
Gforce Anti-Wheel Hop Axles, Gforce Heavy Duty Differential Mount Bracket

409 RWT and 407 RWHP

1/8 mile best: 2.04(60'), 5.61(330'), 8.49(660'), street tires and 2500' density altitude, lifting between gears

Last edited by lejambcr; 06-12-2019 at 04:17 PM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 03:49 PM   #21
Nothubertjfarnsworth
ಠ_ಠ
 
Nothubertjfarnsworth's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NWI
Posts: 34,105
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerNoodle...View Post
Yeah I go to CSP for all my tuning needs. Looks like I need to buy HP-Tuners.

Any tips for beginners before I go out and buy it? Where should I buy it from, what should I buy, etc.
Any good documentation that won't put me in a deep coma for 8 months?

Best modding investment ever.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 05:47 PM   #22
SkiPopeye36
FPFQ Herder
 
SkiPopeye36's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7,944
Premium Member


Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by lejambcr...View Post
I bought mine from HP Tuners directly, I don't think they distribute to anyone else? Bought the MPVI2, did not spend the extra $$$ for Pro. Bought 2 credits so that I could tune my GTO. There is tons of stuff on the internet on howto. I learned slowly over the course of about 3 months Started with the simple stuff and added complexity. Sometimes you just need someone to walk you thru the basics in 10-15mins. Since I was born and raised in NJ (might explain a few things) I would be happy to help you get started via some phone discussion.


Step 1: Download the latest version of HP Tuner Suite from their website. You will get the VCM Tuner Editor and VCM Logger/Scanner
Step 2: Find a Stock 2004 GTO (I assume that's your year) tune that someone has posted online. Better yet I'll attach one for you to play with.
Step 3: Read that tune into the VCM Tuner Editor and start playing with it. You can do a lot of learning without spending a nickel.
Step 4: Once you purchase the MPVI2 from HP Tuners you'll be able to read the current tune from your car and start comparing it to stock to see what changes where made to convert it to SD, your tuner might even be kind enough to email you the latest tune he built for you.
Step 5: Concentrate on searching the internet on what settings need to be in the ENGINE DIAGNOSTICS section of the tune to fix your O2 trouble code problem.


Few things:
1) You can get HP Tuners from numerous vendors. Doesn’t really make a difference where though as the prices are all set by HP Tuners.
2) You really should not be tuning a car from scratch without the Pro version as you need the Pro version to integrate a wide band. Tuning without a wide band is a horrible thing to do; especially any WOT tuning. Making small adjustments via logging the trims is OK, but that’s about it.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-12-2019, 06:08 PM   #23
lejambcr
My other car has wings
 
lejambcr's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Benson, NC
Posts: 313
Premium Member


Offline
I had excellent success tuning with a single wideband with the AEM system without needing PRO. The AEM system installs with a pigtail on the OBDII port and then the MPVI2 plugs into that. VCM Scanner reads the lambda signal just fine. Bought the AEM system direct from HP Tuners. You do need PRO if you want to read 2 widebands at the same time. Here is a screen shot of a 3rd gear pull followed by a brief 4th gear pull. Lambda is tracking real close to my .885 target.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	324.0 KB
ID:	493021  

Last edited by lejambcr; 06-12-2019 at 06:19 PM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2019, 04:13 AM   #24
SkiPopeye36
FPFQ Herder
 
SkiPopeye36's Avatar
 
2005 GTO Owner

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 7,944
Premium Member


Offline
Woah, when did that AEM system come out? I've the Ballenger Motorsports AFR500 and needed the Pro version to integrate it. I also have the older HP Tuners MVPI Pro.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2019, 04:33 AM   #25
lejambcr
My other car has wings
 
lejambcr's Avatar
 
2006 GTO Owner

Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Benson, NC
Posts: 313
Premium Member


Offline
A little over a year ago I think. It's nice to have the lambda gauge in the pillar pod too.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2019, 11:42 AM   #26
DangerNoodle
The battle of wits has begun.
 
DangerNoodle's Avatar
 
2004 GTO Owner

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,255


Offline
Wanted to say thank you for all the info. I plan to make the HP Tuner purchase later this week.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the LS1GTO.com Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Location
Where you live (must be accurate to IP location, if wrong you may be permanently banned)
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:25 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.