LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,
I'm brand new to this message board; I discovered it only last night, but I'm very pleased I did.

I have a 2006 GTO which I have owned for less than 2 months. I absolutely love this car except for one problem: I am frequently locked out of 2nd gear. I know that the car has the "1 to 4" shift lockout under certain conditions, but that is not what I am experiencing. The effect is exactly the same as a "1 to 4" shift lockout, except the "1 to 4" shift light isn't on. (I know that my "1 to 4" shift light works b/c I have seen it working.) My problem occurs only when going through an intersection (from a full stop) during city driving. It doesn't always occur, but it occurs enough to be very annoying, sometimes as much as 2-3 times per day. There is something about my driving pattern when going through an intersection from a full stop that triggers the problem. I have not yet consulted my dealer b/c I am trying to see if there are any other predictable factors associated with the problem (a certain rpm range, a certain speed range, etc).

Any ideas? (I am new to this board so I don't know if this problem has already been discussed. If so, could someone kindly direct me to that thread?) Your input will be greatly appreciated!

·
1 of 262
10,335 Posts
Welcome.. I've never heard of this problem. The only thing I can think of is you may be engaging the CAGS, but the light isn't showing. Have you tried shifting at ~3,500 RPM? Does it still lock you out? Try it.

·
Administrator
9,491 Posts
The conditions you are describing when the lockout occurs are exactly when the skip-shift/CAGS is supposed to engage, at light throttle and 15-19 mph. The 1-4 light and dash indicator may only come on briefly and you might not see them if you're concentrating on the traffic.