LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Dick Ross
7,239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been wanting to put the family name on something for a while now, and it's finally time to do it. I've wanted something like this for a long time, so I started playing around with my software and I think I might be onto something awesome. The cartridge is based off of 20 gauge shotgun brass, similar to my 12 gauge from hell. The key difference being, this is intended for subsonic velocities to be used with a suppressor. This will be firing a 1000 grain .615" boat tail hollow point at a little over 1100 fps. It will produce around 3000 ft-lbs of muzzle energy, while remaining completely subsonic. The gun I've chosen for this is the savage 220 bolt action shotgun. The cartridge is going to be short enough to mag feed and requires no special chamber, so that means you can still fire normal 20 gauge shot shells. This cartridge is meant for medium game, such as deer. Technically, it's still a shotgun per definition by the ATF, meaning it *should be legal in shotgun hunting only states. The suppressor isn't a requirement, but it adds to the cartridge. So far I have ordered brass, a bull 24" barrel and will have the gun later today. The barrel swap might not be neccessary if I can keep pressure low enough, but it does add a little weight to a 6 lb gun, which it'll need. Recoil won't be too terrible, but it will definitely have some kick. Sligh mods to the stock to reinforce it from the extra recoil, weight added to the stock, and an aftermarket butt pad will tame it quite a bit. The bullets are going to be made by the same folks who did my 12 gauge solids and I think I found someone to make the suppressor. So far, people have seemed to really like this idea and quite a few are interested in building one. I think it'll be a really fun big bore, especially with a suppressor. Will post back here when I finally have work to show.

·
Have Bar, Will Travel
9,738 Posts