LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a sub box in my wife's Bird with 2 subs in it. If they are wired in phase, they don't put out much sound. If you disconnect one of them, the sound at least doubles. If you hook one up out of phase, it gets a lttle louder still. Does this box need a port? Is there some other problem?
Thanks,
John

·
Moving Forward
2,163 Posts
lively said:
I have a sub box in my wife's Bird with 2 subs in it. If they are wired in phase, they don't put out much sound. If you disconnect one of them, the sound at least doubles. If you hook one up out of phase, it gets a lttle louder still. Does this box need a port? Is there some other problem?
Thanks,
John
I'm not a speaker expert, but i have done every car i own, except my current (got lazy). It sounds to me that your amp isn't getting enough power to support both subs. My friend has a huge box in his car (2 12'' subs) and he has the similar problems you are having. He told me the car itself isn't putting out enough power to support his sound system (Alternator is too weak).Whats really runny is his car actually reacts to the stereo being on and changes when it goes off. I never though electrical components could put such a strain on the engine. You'll need to boost the power somehow, this is where my knowledge ends since i have never had this problem wiring my systems.

·
May I quote you on that?
22,046 Posts