LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
heading to the track
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
first off I have a pioneer avic 140bh I am getting ready to install. What camera is going to be my best option? Prices pictures any ideas on what to use thanks. Also any ideas on how and where to mount one

·
Insert Witty Title Here
2,803 Posts
A thought of where to mount one might be where the tow hitch square piece is back there.

Could drill a hole big enough for the lense to stick out of and possibly mount the rest of it up underneath all hidden like.

I might be way off base here as I have zero experience installing cameras on vehicles, but might be worth looking into? :dunno:

·
Goatlove
1,451 Posts
I drilled a small hole behind the license plate to route the cord. Used double sided tape to mount the camera up on the ledge. It gives it a cleaner appearance than a license plate camera. Think I paid $20 or so for mine on Amazon. Still works fine.

·
riding the wave!
2,293 Posts
I just finished installing mine. As for which camera to get, if your unit has the RCA jack for the rear view camera, just do a search on sonicelectronix or amazon for whichever features (parking guide/grid lines or not, flush install) and price you like.

Also, if your HU also offers a 'rear view' option while driving forward, make sure you wire the camera accordingly.

Mine offered a flush mount option. I removed the center section of the license plate, drilled a hole, put a grommet, ran the wire through, then drilled a hole on the top sill of the center piece and mounted it flush there. Put it all together and it works great.

Hole on the lid with grommet for camera wire-

finished flush mount (sorry for the bad pic), I painted the flush mounting nut to match the car-

hope this helps and good luck!

·
Goatlove
1,451 Posts
That's a pretty clean look.

·
Goatlove
1,451 Posts
Here is mine:

·
riding the wave!
2,293 Posts