LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Purchased my 04 gto a year and a half ago and it already had HIDs installed in both high and low beam. Last week all but one high beam just stopped working all at the same time. I ordered a set of LED bulbs for the low beam and did away with all the ratty, shade tree wiring some previous owner thought was "good enough". All lights are working now. I'm thinking I'm good to go. Back out of the shop and suddenly the battery light comes on and info center says check alternator. I keep a battery tender on it since I'm a truck driver and am gone weeks at a time. Voltage was at 12.6 when i crunk the car. In the amount of time it took me to back up 20 feet and drive back forward the voltage dropped to 9.5. I took battery out while removing the pieced together wiring. I'm at a loss. Don't see how anything i messed with could make the alternator give out. Any idea's on what to check?

·
Worthless reject member
40,163 Posts
Do your basics. Test the battery and the alternator. Make sure the connections to the battery and alternator are good, and check the dc sense circuit and indicator lamp/field power circuit.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is it normal for it to loose that much voltage in such a short period? I'm wondering if something has crawled in it and chewed on wires or something. I wouldn't even be able to drive it to a mechanic at that rate of loss

·
Worthless reject member
40,163 Posts
If your rpms dropped significantly and the battery was discharged, or there was a poor connection at the battery terminals, it could happen.

·
GR-RRR!
5,510 Posts
Is it normal for it to loose that much voltage in such a short period? I'm wondering if something has crawled in it and chewed on wires or something. I wouldn't even be able to drive it to a mechanic at that rate of loss