LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
PC load letter?
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to performance cars and mods in general and the first mod I plan on doing is getting better/stickier performance tires. Only the best for my GTO, but I have no idea what to get. Toyo? Good Year?

I want the best performance for dry weather. Thanks!

·
Registered
33 Posts
edge929 said:
I'm new to performance cars and mods in general and the first mod I plan on doing is getting better/stickier performance tires. Only the best for my GTO, but I have no idea what to get. Toyo? Good Year?

I want the best performance for dry weather. Thanks!
here in aus even though climate condition is totally different Pirelli pzero is fitted as standard on a lot of HSV's another one is bridgestone all these tyres are expensive. yokohama is another favourite for aftermarket and of course michelin the new dunlop 9000 it just depends how deep your pockets are

·
Registered
33 Posts
another tip when buying aftermarket tyres you all know the GTO has Z rated tyres, as the GTO is heavy make sure aftermarket tyres comply with the weight requirement.every tyre will have a weight indicator and the GTO will have somewhere stamped what is the minnimum weight requirement for tyres so make sure you ask your friendly tyre dealer that the tyres you buy satisfy the weight requirement.

·
Knight Errant
1,800 Posts
BFG GF KD's

I'm kinda partial to the BFG GF T/A KD's myself. I expounded their virtues elsewhere. They are NOT cheap in 17 or 18 however when you consider you'll be burning them up twice as fast. ;)

·
Feynman fan
2,336 Posts
The KD is basically the dry-weather biggest brother of the KDWS OEM tires on the GTO and one of the stickiest tires on the market at any price - for dry weather. Since that was the question (dry weather performance), Old Goat is dead on as usual. (Did I mention dry weather?) www.tirerack.com might be helpful...

·
Knight Errant
1,800 Posts
BFG GF KD's

gto_in_nc said: