LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's THE best (affordable) device to use to get live data dispayed/logged on a phone or laptop that will work with the GTO?

My old corded OBD2 scanner doesn't work with the GTO.
I'm getting a check engine light periodically that resets its self after a day or 2. Would like to see what's going on....

What app works best for the GTO's data?

Complete noob on this stuff...... Be kind, please. Lol.

·
Premium Member
74 Posts
The only combo I can speak to is Torque using a Bluetooth dongle. I bought a more expensive one after reading of someone on here having trouble with their fob's communication with the BCM with a cheap eBay dongle, but someone on FB assured me that they're all the same and that I wasted my money.

I like torque though, until I can get an oil pressure gauge in a dash pod I can just monitor it on an old Android phone. I haven't tried logging but it definitely can read and clear codes.

·
Worthless reject member
37,192 Posts
For as simple and cheap as it is, torque has a lot of capability.

Don't know if i agree with the bluetooth adapters all being the same. They all use the elm327, but i am sure PCB and other electrical component quality can vary.

I've had good luck with the obd link products.

·
Premium Member
74 Posts
Don't know if i agree with the bluetooth adapters all being the same. They all use the elm327, but i am sure PCB and other electrical component quality can vary.
That was my takeaway after reading a thread by GTO44 where he had trouble. This guy was was pretty adamant that it didn't matter so I was just like whatever, so I "wasted my money", neat

I've had good luck with the obd link products.
I think that's the brand I went with.

·
Chief CAD monkey
714 Posts