LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Dimensions of Blaupunkt stereo?/Eclipse avn2454 fit?

Hi;

Does anybody know all of the dimensions of the factory installed 04 gto blaupunkt head unit? I'm planning on installing an Eclipse Navigation system (avn2454) in its place (double din size) which requires 7" w, 4" h, and 7" d.

I'm new to this, so perhaps a better question than what is the measurement of the current factory head unit is, "will a new head unit measuring the above (again, 7w x 4hx 7d) fit in the location if I remove the current blaupunkt?

Hope the Eclipse will fit, I like that model quite a bit.

Thanks in advance!

Chris

purple gto driver for 4 days
:)

·
Registered
6 Posts
The 04 Blaukpunkt radio/cd unit itself is standard double din size, but the facia panel that they have put on it is not - its slightly bigger and not 'square'. The facia panel is 192mm width at the top, 180mm width at the bottom, with a height of 140mm.

So there is room to fit a double din unit. But - because of the position of the radio cage behind the dash, and the odd sized facia panel opening mentioned above - once you've fitted a standard double din sized unit, you will be left with a small gap at the top, approximately a 25mm gap at the bottom, and uneven gaps at the side. Also, the unit will sit too far back in the dash, so you have to space it forward slightly. A custom made facia surround is the only answer, as nobody seems to make a facia panel DIN adaptor for the Monaro/GTO.

I really wish they would not fit these cheap non-standard sized radios as standard that are a pain to replace. These type of radios should only be fitted to small/cheap city cars. When you're buying a car such as the Monaro/GTO, they should give you the option of having NO radio fittted and just a standard sized din space so you can fit your own system.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks + Depth o.k?

PaulS said: