LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
13 year owner
16,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, since I was under the car giving her the maiden oil change Saturday afternoon, I was playing with stuff underneath the car. I started playing with the driving lights and popped the bulb out.

It is a 9040 bulb. The 9040 has a metal painted tip so as to defract direct light to eliminate blinding. Similar to a low beam 9006 headlight capsule. So I go to CMNT’s lighting vault (one drawer in one of my roller cabinets solely for bulbs) and I started playing around with what I had in stock. I found a spare set of PIAA 9006 HB3 (low beam bulbs). They were the same exact base, same exact everything, except for one thing, it is a slight bit longer of a bulb than the 9040. So I tried fitting it in the housing. Very, very close, but that added length of the bulb hits the deflector inside the housing itself. So back to the drawing board I go. I found a high beam 9005 HB3 bulb. IT’S ABSOLUTELY IDENTICAL! Except it doesn’t have the added metal painted tip to defract light. I popped it in connected everything, and it works like a charm. Now it has one less deflection in the light housing. It looked to lay out a little more light outright too (seeing as though it was a 60w high beam bulb vs. the 9040’s 40w output).

So for a cheap, free (well almost free anyway) lighting mod, you can try this.

Once again, it’s a 9005 HB3 bulb

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
I did the same thing with my GTP. The factory bulb was 27 watts and the bulb that I was told that would fit was 38 watts. Several people have tried 50 watt bulbs and say they dont have any problems, but alot of people are claiming that the fog light housing is melting from the heat.

For me the 27 to 38 bulb change made a huge difference.

Keep us informed if you have any problems.

thanks for the tip.

·
Registered
294 Posts
I did it to my 1999 GTP....and it did melt the housing!!! I am interested to see if this works or not.