LS1GTO Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
GR-RRR!
8,078 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new to me 04 came with an aftermarket stereo. The Pioneer head unit with JBL speakers seems just fine by itself. However, there is an amplifier and subwoofer in the trunk. I don't need the additional noise and the sub takes up way too much trunk space. I've turned the sub off and the remaining system sound is still great and more than enough for me.

I'd like to remove the amp and sub altogether, but I want to make sure the amp is only there to power the sub. I think that's the case but I'm no electronics expert. Below are some images showing how the amp is wired. Can anyone tell me if the amp is ONLY there to power the sub?

Font Audio equipment Gadget Cable Gas

Automotive tire Computer hardware Audio equipment Electrical wiring Bumper

Audio equipment Gadget Electrical wiring Cable Technology

"Trigger" refers to a wire from the head unit so that the amp only comes on when the head unit comes on. The "subwoofer" cables are just the speaker wires that connect to the sub. The "remote" connects to a knob up front separate from the head unit that controls how much bass the sub makes. The "RCA outs" are connected to the RCA outs on the head unit directly. These are only for things controlled outside the normal speaker outputs in the main wiring loom.

Basically, if I rip out this amp, will the rest of the system (interior speakers) function as normal? I guess I can disconnect the power from the amp and see how it sounds?

·
Administrator
9,502 Posts
Yep, that’s only powering the subwoofer. You can remove everything if you no longer want the sub in there.

·
Administrator
9,502 Posts
Meanwhile I went the full opposite direction:

Infinity Kappa 60.7cs 2 way component front speakers.
Infinity Kappa 63.71 3 way rear speakers.
Kicker 6.5" rear deck subs.
HiFonics Zeus ZX8000 5 channel, 1000 watt amp.
Audio Control LC6i input convertor.
12" JL Audio Sub.