LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey everyone whats up. im a complete newb to the gto world, ls series engine world, pontiac world. i have owned all chrysler vehicles and am ready to finally step up to some real powerful vehicles. the lease on my crossfire is up in about six months so i am researching the gto, i made my mind up that its the car i want to own.

so i know this topic has probably been covered numerous times, but the searches i performed came up with threads that were a year old and i was hopeing for some updated opinions. right now im on the fence, im not sure which year to purchase. i know the ls1 is less powerful, smaller brakes, and no drive by wire, as well as having a smaller motor, but has a huge aftermarket. the 05, 06 have a growing aftermarket, but is the difference in price worth the jump? i can pick up a 04 with 15k miles or less for about 19k, or an 05 with 15k miles or less for 22k. its a small difference, but still enough to make me think.

the only question i have is, i guess, whats the n.a. ceiling for power on both motors with a head/cam combo? is there a huge difference in potential. i plan on using as aggressive of a cam as i can for a daily driver that logs 30k miles a year. but if the 04 can make 450whp with a h/c combo, and the 05 makes 475whp, i would just go with the 04 and save the 3k in purchase price, wouldnt mind losing the 25whp. thanks in advance.

mike

by the way, dodgers :ftw:

·
I'm gonna get you!
2,812 Posts
there is little to no difference in the aftermarket between the ls1 or 2. Most stuff works on either.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok. if i put 4k into a h/c combo though, what kind of power differencial would i see from the two motors?

·
Fly Fast, Turn Left
512 Posts