LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
GTOholic
1,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a novice drag racer. I want to lower my 60' times and my ET's. (Don't we all?) I suspect that my "tach it to red line and shift" technique is not ideal. What is the proper way to shift the M6 transmission for optimum 60' times and lowest ETs?

·
I drive slow
57 Posts
Focus on smooth before quick. You want to shift as smooth as possible, so that the car does not dip the nose down and pick it back up too much. You will get quicker with your shifts with time and practice. Some people speed shift (keep foot on gas pedal), but I lift every time, and seem to do OK. To 60' better, it's best to find the RPM at the line where you spin a bit, but not much, and ride the clutch out.

·
Gone but not forgotten
4,672 Posts
buddy of mines boss has a Z06. he went to the track one day for some times. first, he went balls out, spinning the tires, power shifting and just going crazy. ran like 12.9 or something. next he ran it as recommended which is to not spin the tires and shift smoothly at redline. ran like a 12.6. so its all in the technnique

·
God Bless Texas!
2,284 Posts
Smooth shifting, Ride the clutch alittle, Keep the tires from spinning (Easier said). I found a shift just before 6000 rpm (around 5700) was better for me to keep up the speed. I'm waiting for NHRA to leave Baytown so I can try her on the 1/4.

·
Chief Poncho
3,032 Posts
Slip the clutch quickly and ease into the throttle will net you some fairly good 60' ft times. I found that speed shifting at around 6000 netted me my best time, which was 13.3. Speed shifting is the way to go for best times in my opinion, but it takes practice.

·
GTOholic
1,504 Posts
Discussion Starter #6