LS1GTO Forums banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question regarding purge a nitrous system on a 05 m6...i'm having a shop install the NOs plate kit with 100 shot and window switch. The guy doing the install said purge is not really needed, you can have the bottle on in the waterbox and purge it there by blipping the gas...Does this sound ok?...i've done some searching and it seems the purge is used to get the air out of the system and the car could bog down if it's not purged? Is this correct? also is there more risk of a nitroous backfire if there is air in the system?

Thanks for the help, I'm new to the bottle...

·
Registered
613 Posts
thanks, how would you do it? Leave it in neutral and get the revs above 3k?
huh?

your kit should come with a purge, if not get one. all you have to do is push the button and it is purged. you dont want to spray your motor in neutral. if the shop is saying to purge like that and you dont need a purge i wouldnt mess with them.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
huh?

your kit should come with a purge, if not get one. all you have to do is push the button and it is purged. you dont want to spray your motor in neutral. if the shop is saying to purge like that and you dont need a purge i wouldnt mess with them.

The way he explained it was that it automatically sprays between 3k and 6k, so wouldn't you just leave it in Neutral and rev it so it sprays the air through so it wouldn't bog when you launch?

Sorry if this sounds stoopid , I didn't really understand what the the guy said about purging in the waterbox, I will try to get him to clarify it. The car is not finished yet, maybe I will just have him add the purge.

·
Premium Member
2,644 Posts
I do not purge and this is why.

Instead of having to wait until 3,000 to get a full 100 shot hit why not skip the purge and bring it on earlier. It also gives a smoother transition instead of the WHAM all the sudden.