LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know I'm about to receive a lot of crap for this and honestly I don't blame you but I'm stubborn and my ocd is kicking in.
I trail ride with my dirt bike pretty occasionally with my dad, however he has a lot of hobbies and is often out of town for them. He drives the truck so if he's gone I don't have a way to get my bike to the trail. I would like to fix that, however I'm a college student and don't have expendable funds to spend on getting a truck/suv/trailer.
We already own a dual dirt bike carrier which weighs 70lb.
My dirt bike weighs 257lb dry.
327 lb tongue weight.
This is the exact carrier we own.
Obviously I would only load my bike and closest to the car as possible.It is designed for a 2 inch receiver so you would probably need an adapter since most tow bars are 1 1/4 for cars which would probably end up extending the weight slightly further back.
I have 19 inch rims with stock springs so the extra sag is a bit of a concern however, I do have drag bags and may be able to compensate for the extra weight. The drive is mostly very smooth also.
I also have a 2009 Malibu but that doesn't look much more feasible and I get better luck with search results seeing what people tow with cars similar to the Gto vs what people tow with the Malibu.
The tow bars available seem to have a high enough tongue rating its more of a question whether the frame/suspension of the Gto can handle it along with how low the carrier will end up sitting.