LS1GTO Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, just another noob here asking if I should settle for an ls1 goat, or wait for a nice ls2.

I've read no less than 50 thread about the matter, but can't decide for the life on me. Between the 50 hp difference and the cosmetic differences, I can't decide.

Mostly made this thread to clarify modding the ls1 to 400 hp. Sounds like a grumpy cam, good headers and intake will get the right up there with an ls2. Sound about right?

The price difference in the area is about 2-3k between the two. What would it run for say, Some good flowing heads, a good cam, and some decent budget headers? Looks like around 2k if I get used good heads, but would never buy a used cam. I would also need a tune. Can anyone recommend a good tuner in MN?

I have searched and read 20 page argument threads about the matter, but there is so many conflicting opinions and bias. I'm expecting to be flamed, but just want some solid info from non bias people.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Buy what you can afford and enjoy. Headers, CAI, tune on an LS1 will get you right at LS2 power. What body style do you prefer? If you're planning heads/cam and you just want a fun car, then a heads/cam 04 will get you over 400 to the wheels, and 400 is plenty to have fun with. In fact, unless you spend some money and get some good tires, you won't even be able to use all that power.

·
Never from concentrate
1,239 Posts
I think it's more important to get a low mileage cleaner car myself. Most of the GTOs I've seen are pretty ragged out especially the 04s. I would rather have a clean mint 04 than a ragged out, seats popped, headlined falling down, faded paint ls2. You can always make more power.

·
ricer phase
9,888 Posts