LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am still learning so please no rude comments if i ask something stupid

ok my 06 gto has felt a big loss in power and i am wondering if it could be related to one of these 3 things that ive done different

1 my catalytic went out and sounded really bad likei had rocks in it so i ended up gutting it becuase i didnt have money for a new one and now my cel is on and its giving me the code for a bad cat

2 my clutch went out .so i had a new one put in and found out the clutch that i replaced had been a performance clutch. so i basiclly went from a performance one to a stock one and dont know if that could be my problem

3 also when i had them replace the clutch they also replaced my flywheel and again dont know if that matters

ps there is also a small exhaust between the muffler and pipping that bolts to the muffler

now since this has happend i tried dong the following to see if it would have helped

1 changed oil/filter mobil1 5w30

2 replaced airfilter with a autozone spectre airfilter

3replaced the old plugs with ngk laser iridium ones

4.replaced stock plug wires with duralast gold ones

and since ive done this i have gained a tiny improvment in power but still nowhere near the power i had previously before the cat problem
please let me know what you think

·
Registered
300 Posts
i am still learning so please no rude comments if i ask something stupid

ok my 06 gto has felt a big loss in power and i am wondering if it could be related to one of these 3 things that ive done different

1 my catalytic went out and sounded really bad likei had rocks in it so i ended up gutting it becuase i didnt have money for a new one and now my cel is on and its giving me the code for a bad cat