LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Dick Ross
7,662 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A buddies friend is wanting to get rid of his 07 650r for $1k. The bike is pretty beat up but sound like it is mechanically sound (gonna go for a test ride soon). The gas tank and fairings are banged up which isn't too big of a deal. I am sooo ready for a bike again it hurts. I am really really tossing the idea around on doing a street fighter conversion on it. IE. remove the fairings, replace the headlights, tuck wires, ect. I think it would be fun, but I have apprehensions as I've never done that before.

I think they look pretty good if done right. Here are a couple of examples.

here is what the model year looks like with the fairings.

I might trade one of my big revolvers for it straight up. What do you guys think? How bad is going naked? I'm pretty decent at fabrication and have a few ideas but won't really have anything planned until I get eyes on the bike

·
Registered lurker
535 Posts
Nekkid bikes get pretty dang windy @ triple digit speeds. Since most folks don't have a need to commute @ triple digit speeds, that isn't really much of a problem.

I haven't owned a fully-faired sportbike in years, & prefer the more upright/open ergonomics of standard/nekkid bikes. Removing a typical sportbike fairing opens up room for taller/wider handlebars, which goes a long way toward alleviating the sportbike crouch.

All that said, a 650 Ninja already has pretty upright & relaxed ergonomics.

·
Dick Ross
7,662 Posts
Discussion Starter #3