LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not sure if I'm posting my question in the right forum. I am new to the GTO, and need some advice. Any and all tips or pointers are appreciated.
So my daughter got a 2004 GTO Automatic for her birthday. She has yet to drive it and I feel bad now. We dropped it off at the paint shop to be repainted. It was running fine and the key fob was working.
We go back a few weeks later to check on car and do some sanding and the battery is shot, key fob not working.
I go buy a new battery put it in and now key fob is working again (key fob is worn out but still working to lock and unlock car)
Now heres my issue,
We have a no crank no start situation.
What are some of the problems it could be?
I've checked fuses they all seem to be good still.
The instrument cluster lights up and radio comes on so do the headlights. The windows roll down as well.
Could the key fob be the problem even though it is locking and unlocking car? Or could it be something more serious like that starter?
Like I said any and all advice is much appreciated.

·
Performance Addict
2005 PBM, 6 Speed, corner carver
159 Posts
I have not seen this but I'll toss out an idea. There is a security interlock that communicates with the key fob. There is a ring around the ignition switch with picks up the signal from the FOB. It is possible that is the issue. I am not positive but something you can try it put the key in the ignition and turn the ignition on, wait for a couple of minutes with the key in the on position and then try to start. I believe the interlock is just a delay to deter theft. While I cannot promise this is the issue, it is something to try and isolate.

The other possibility could be a neutral safety switch failure. If the car is not sensing the trans in park or neutral that is another possibility why it isn't engaging the starter.