LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey y'all, appreciate all the information that's been flowing on this site over the years. Been on the forums all day trying to make sure I ask an educated question that isn't explicitly stated elsewhere, lol. So, here goes. Total newbie here, btw.

I wanna make around 400 whp in my 04 M6. Only performance mods I'm looking to make are OTR CAI, heads, cam and exhaust (plus suspension, rear end, and valve train to support).

From what I can gather, the LS1 heads when ported and polished push more cfm than LS6? Read somewhere that they can get up to 330 cfm while porting and polishing LS6 heads won't help them out the same. Didn't make sense to me based on how I understand that process, so was hoping someone could shed light on this. Don't want to spend an arm and leg on heads if polishing the ones I've got will get me there.

I've now watched a 1 hour video of a guy on YT explaining how to pick a cam twice.

Around 27 minutes he explains that to choose a duration, you have to know what RPM range you want your cam to perform at. My question here is, if I want low-mid range power, what RPM range am I looking at there? He does calculations for the lift and duration so I'm just trying to work it all out based on the way he explains it. If you don't feel like referring to that video, that's fine too. In that case maybe just a recommendation on range based on said goals.

FWIW, I have really liked how the hot cam and the megadeath cams sound. Want something that's a little raspy.

Thanks in advance for any help, will be sure to share progress when I get around to doing this stuff.

Edit: CFM for the heads was in reference to a .550 lift, I believe.

·
Powdercoat all of it
233 Posts
Looks like you did an impressive amount of homework for a first time owner, good on you for not just posting up "how much does it cost to make 800hp?" Not that there's anything wrong with that...