LS1GTO Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well here it is! I have asked a lot of questions and gotten a lot of help, so thanks to everyone on this forum. I took a chance and did it all myself. I'm a complete newbie, so I just took my time and did a lot of research. I ended up spending about $1200 total. Here's the list.

Headunit: Pioneer Premier 880PRS
Amp: Directed 2205 5 channel
Components: Cliff Designs 60.4C (front and rear, left out tweeter in rear)
Subs: JBL GTO 10 inch DVC 4ohm
Powercap: Power Accoustic

http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3422401
http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3422400
http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=3422399

The pictures don't really do it justice. The headunit looks great. I wetsanded and polished the AI din kit, and it matches great. The subs are enclosed in boxes similar to bobthephotoguy's. After mounting the boxes I filled everything with Greatstuff foam, then trimmed it and went to town with Dynamat. Now that I have it all back together I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!! Everything sounds so nice and clean. With the exception of the headunit and the amp in the trunk, everything is hidden. It honestly will go louder and hit harder than you can really stand inside the car.

The best part of all is the sense of satisfaction. Going into it without knowing anything about car audio and ending up with a really nice, clean, and in my opinion, a professional grade system.

What a crap load of work though. Because I did it all myself it took me probably 40 hours (several 2 am nights).

Oh yeah, got it all through Sonicelectronix.com. I called and they gave me substantially better than their Ebay pricing. Plus they claim warranty everything. Not through the manufacturers obviously. I'd recommend them. Excellent after purchase support.

·
Registered
528 Posts
Congrats, man. You can be very proud!. That looks like an excellent job, especially for a first timer. I am impressed.