LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Hell pecker yeah
7,147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few years ago I bought a 1.58 acre empty lot on a lake. It's about 60 miles from Dallas. I was working in the oil field at the time and planned on building there. I would only have to commute to the plane station once a month or so for work. Well, life got in the way, I had to leave the oil field and now I have a different job. I technically work from home, but I'm a field service engineer and I am supposed to live within 25 miles of Dallas or Fort Worth. The lake is too far. I'm in a rental house now in the middle of the Metroplex. I want to sell this lake lot so I can get the equity out and use it for a down payment on my own place with a shop and room to play. It's been on and off the market for two years now. I've dropped the price over that time to below what I paid.

I've also been through a couple different realtors. One told me to just let it go to foreclosure. I fired him. Another didn't seem like they wanted to make any money. Gone. New one I was told was young and hungry. He's been the best so far.

Realtor reached out to me today and told me there was someone interested. There are currently three lots listed in this cove. It is a development that has 16 or so lots, a 20 slip marina, gated boat ramp, etc. No houses have been built yet. The cove has been dredged out so if the lake goes low again we will still be able to get boats in and out. The other two lots are asking the same price, with one of them being the same size as mine and the other only 1 acre. This interested party wants to know if I am willing to do owner financing.

Years ago I sold a house on a rent-to-own basis. It turned out ok, but it took time and a good faith extension on the original contract.