LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I bought my car last year I have had problems with a shaking steering wheel. It only happens on smooth roads at speeds over 50. Its been to the dealer atleast 5-6 times for this. They gave me three new tires have done 4 wheel alinement and numorous other things. They seemed to have got it under control but I can still feel it a little. I had my bumper off yesterday and saw the tires are worn on the inside and the outside. Any idea whats going on? I still have a year on the waranty so I will take it back again. I was hoping one of you might have had the same problem and might know of a service bulletin.

Thanx for any help

·
Registered
181 Posts
I have the same issue. Working with the dealer right now. Balanced wheels so far. Taking it back on weds for another look.

·
:mrrg:
10,466 Posts
I'm no expert but tires worn on the inside and outside could be underinflated. My 05 has a slight shimmy at about 60 that I can feel through the steering wheel. My guess would be radius rod or strut top bushings. I know alot of guys say the radius rod bushings are junk.. I think my car has an alignment issue. I did notice when I rotated my tires that the left front had some cupping on the inside tread. Jet also has a thread about truing up the tires. I think they shave some rubber off them to make them perfectly round.. I would mention the bushings to your dealer.. I guess you could also show them this thread.. http://www.ls1gto.com/forums/showthread.php?t=106059

·
Still a communist state
12,479 Posts
My suspension feels nice and dandy but i think my rotors are warped,under heavy breaking the whole front end rattles and shakes like crazy

·
Registered
2,098 Posts