LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to change my intake manifold gasket and was looking for a step by step guide ,now ive done a few in the past on a 87 camaro and and 80 camaro and seeing this is my first time changing one on a new engine i dont want to learn the hardway like i did on the First 80 camaro when i pulled the distributor not keeping track of the firing order or poistion it was in and i ended up spending an entire day trying to fix it .. i mean it seems like this should be a simple job but id rather have instructions

·
Registered
921 Posts
For starters, ive never done but am about to. I’d imagine I would:

disconnect the fuel line
Any wires - MAP sensor, TPS, etc
Remove the intake
Cover intake ports while you replace the gaskets on intake
Do any cleaning you feel is necessary
Replace everything and go

*timing will what it is before and after
*prime the fuel system before startup
*maybe 30 mins comfortably

·
Registered
557 Posts
why do you want to change them? are the leaking?

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
woah, why?
the inside of the manifold is coated with greese so i wanted to clean it and i also wanted to inspect the whole manifold for cracks becuase i am wondering if my issues can also be related to a crack in the mani or a vac leak possibly coming from the manifold gasket and also figured it wouldnt hurt

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
the inside of the manifold is coated with greese so i wanted to clean it and i also wanted to inspect the whole manifold for cracks becuase i am wondering if my issues can also be related to a crack in the mani or a vac leak possibly coming from the manifold gasket and also figured it wouldnt hurt
grease not greese excuse my :poop: spelling lol

·
Worthless reject member
40,771 Posts