LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just finished up another release of VZClusterMod and added some extra functionality for diagnosing the airbag system. I posted the documentation on the site, but I'll paste it here as well.

It's included in the zip for the cluster utility, so nothing separate to download.

http://1337vending.com/vzclustermod/wiki/VZAirbag
This is a utility that uses some of the same ALDL parsing code developed to talk to the cluster in car to allow you to query the airbag module for current conditions and faults. If you're looking for the Windows binary, it's in the vzclustermod ZIP on the front page

If you're using the windows binary, double click the vzairbag-xxxbeta.exe, which should open a command window like so:


Once you have your cable detected, and verified working ( as per here), you're ready to check your airbag codes.

To check current conditions, run read 0:
Code:
[incar-airbag-com4]# read 0
Waiting for heartbeat...
Send: ['FB', '57', '01', '00', 'AD']
['01', '00', '7B', '39', 'B3', '2F', 'B4', '34', 'B0', '35', 'B2', 'FF', 'FA', 'FF', 'FA', '00', '0F', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00']
ALDL Mode: 0x1 (read configuration table) Table: 0x0
---===Current Conditions===---
Battery voltage         14.3
Steering wheel Ohm      5.7
Steering wheel loop nF  479
Passenger Airbag Ohm    2.0
Passenger Airbag nF     480
LH Pretensioner Ohm     2.5
LH Pretensioner nF      476
RH Pretensioner Ohm     2.5
RH Pretensioner nF      478
Airbag light            False
That was from an airbag module functioning normally. Chances are if you're at this guide the airbag light on your car will be on, and one or more of those values will be different.

To read the codes from the module, do readcodes

Code:
[incar-airbag-com4]# readcodes
Waiting for heartbeat...
Send: ['FB', '57', '01', '02', 'AB']
['01', '02', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00']
Waiting for heartbeat...
Send: ['FB', '57', '01', '04', 'A9']
['01', '04', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00', '00']
---===  Current Faults(beta!) ===---
Steering wheel loop None
Passenger airbag loop None
LH Pretensioner None
RH Pretensioner None
---===Historical Faults(beta!)===---
Steering wheel loop None
Passenger airbag loop None
LH Pretensioner None
RH Pretensioner None
Note that currently the only codes I have been able to decipher are Open circuit, Short Circuit, and short to ground.

If you see faults under historical faults, but not current, you should be able to clear the airbag codes assuming you verified the issue has been corrected. For instance, accidentally powering on the car with the seat pretensioners unplugged.

To clear the airbag codes, run clearcodes :
Code:
[incar-airbag-com4]# clearcodes
There's not much else cool you can do, but it should save you from finding someone with a tech2 to clear the fault.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,375 Posts
Perfect timing, I am going to help a friend with this tonight with my tech2, but I will test your program first.

Ryan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,081 Posts
Wow this is great. I had no desire to mod my cluster but I do have airbag codes from the seats being out at the track. Looks like I need to get going on this. Thanks for the info.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
8,006 Posts
So, looks like this is a MUCH easier way to clear the code than what I had to do last week, correct?

I had to do a listen command, find the airbag info, run "iddqd", then do "custom fb=0a".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yep, it sends the same thing, but without the extra stuff. I made it more difficult to use the custom command since you can send arbitrary frames, which can break things if you don't know what you're doing.

I also have done some work with the ABS module, reading data and what not, but I need to test that a little more before I put it out. Also the bleed procedure would be nice, get any captures on that yet slow? :)
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
8,006 Posts
:thumbs:
 

·
The Old Goat
Joined
·
86 Posts
I downloaded and tried to run v3.0 and it quickly opens a window and then closes it. I can't read what error it brings up. My v2.7 runs fine. Is there anything more I have to do to install this version? The airbag utility starts up fine also. Win7
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hmm, if you would, extract the zip file to a directory and open up cmd and try to run it from within the cmd window. Would be interested to see what the error is.

You're trying to run vzclustermod-030beta.exe right?
 

·
The Old Goat
Joined
·
86 Posts
Here is the output from my cmd window:


C:\Users\scrager.IHMA\Desktop\vzclustermod-030beta\dist>dir
Volume in drive C is Windows7_OS
Volume Serial Number is F652-878E

Directory of C:\Users\scrager.IHMA\Desktop\vzclustermod-030beta\dist

09/06/2013 10:46 AM <DIR> .
09/06/2013 10:46 AM <DIR> ..
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 68,608 bz2.pyd
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 35,147 gpl.txt
09/06/2013 10:46 AM <DIR> library
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 1,770,022 library.zip
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 662 LICENSE.txt
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 2,448,384 python27.dll
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 10,240 select.pyd
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 686,080 unicodedata.pyd
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 19,968 vzairbag-030beta.exe
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 19,968 vzclustermod-030beta.exe
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 49,664 w9xpopen.exe
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 87,552 _ctypes.pyd
09/06/2013 10:28 AM 358,400 _hashlib.pyd
12 File(s) 5,554,695 bytes
3 Dir(s) 172,160,618,496 bytes free

C:\Users\scrager.IHMA\Desktop\vzclustermod-030beta\dist>vzclustermod-030beta
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "vzclustermod.py", line 2, in <module>
ImportError: No module named cluster

C:\Users\scrager.IHMA\Desktop\vzclustermod-030beta\dist>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,375 Posts
I tried to do the bleed procedure with my tech2, and got errors on the tech2. I need to try on the lift with the bleeders open.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Yeah, I'm not sure how the bleed procedure is supposed to go, I think the Helms says to activate the tech 2 bleed and then bleed as normal. But yeah, it seems like there's some sort of magic that has to happen.
 

·
The Old Goat
Joined
·
86 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
1337vending,

I opened the command prompt but am getting no response from the "listports" command. I downloaded the ftdi driver but still no success.

Please help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
You may need to tell Windows to use the FTDI driver for your device. If you right click on "my computer" and go to manage, and then go to Device manager, look for any unknown devices. To aid in that, unplug and replug to see what disappears/reappears.

Generally, Win7 doesn't have a problem finding the driver. Are you on XP?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
You may need to tell Windows to use the FTDI driver for your device. If you right click on "my computer" and go to manage, and then go to Device manager, look for any unknown devices. To aid in that, unplug and replug to see what disappears/reappears.

Generally, Win7 doesn't have a problem finding the driver. Are you on XP?
I found the device in device manager. How do I point it to the driver? Also, I'm not sure that the ftdi driver loaded properly. I get this pop up at the end of running the install: "This operation requires elevation."
 

·
All motor...deep 10
Joined
·
3,417 Posts
Thank you for keeping to work on this and open up new things for us. Wasn't able to clear my airbag light yet. Going to take the wheel off again and make sure everything is plugged in correctly and try again. I guess if that doesn't work my clock spring is bad.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
I found the device in device manager. How do I point it to the driver? Also, I'm not sure that the ftdi driver loaded properly. I get this pop up at the end of running the install: "This operation requires elevation."
If you right click and 'run as administrator' it should install properly. Take note of the install path once you install it, you may have to go in manually to device manager and point it to the .inf files.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Thank you for keeping to work on this and open up new things for us. Wasn't able to clear my airbag light yet. Going to take the wheel off again and make sure everything is plugged in correctly and try again. I guess if that doesn't work my clock spring is bad.
Do `readcodes` in vzairbag, it should show you the resistance/capacitance of each loop. That should point you in the right direction.
 
1 - 20 of 46 Posts
Top