LS1GTO.com Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im wondering what it would cost for an A4 6.0L minus the tires to handle 800hp and not break. Currently the engine is pretty much bone stock, and I'd like to gradually build the engine to 800hp. Start with things that usually break or are not suited under that load, and then move to major power adding. I dont have a budget laid out, but I was just wondering what the cheapest way to get there is, just so I could see if the budget could be potentially girlfriend friendly. If it's too expensive I probably wont target 800hp so I just wanna know what your guys' experience are.

·
Administrator
20,348 Posts
Forged internals, twin turbo, 4l80 tran swap, cv joints

Also, start searching the FI threads.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Forged internals, twin turbo, 4l80 tran swap, cv joints

Also, start searching the FI threads.
May I ask why the tranny and joints? Im a total newbie and dont know much about the inner workings of cars and how power translates to all the different parts of the vehicle

·
Registered
287 Posts
lol, no way.
it's an auto, he will have $5k in trans, stall, driveshaft alone. Cheapest a blower setup will be is $4500 for a 2650 and more like $7k for a procharger. He could do a CHEAP turbo setup from CXRacing for around $3k. If he had fab skills he could do a turbo setup for less but based on the overall thread I doubt he possesses the needed skills/tools for that.

Then you need a fuel system and a cam kit at minimum. At 800whp he is gonna be pushing that stock bottom to it's limits. 800crank and he will hold together longer long as he has a competent tuner.

Cheap, fast, reliable- pick 2.

·
Worthless reject member
40,364 Posts
There is a lather rinse repeat cheap racecar minset.

Chances are he should go a cheap disposable 5.3/4.8 bottom end setup and a chinesium snail. Cheapo trans.