LS1GTO Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im just beginning to do some work on my goat and I was wondering if there are any local places to get a dyno tune when i ante up the cash to buy the predator

·
Gone but not forgotten
4,672 Posts
GoatHerder said:
Im just beginning to do some work on my goat and I was wondering if there are any local places to get a dyno tune when i ante up the cash to buy the predator
two things

1. where are you from?

2. why would you do a dyno tune and the predator? i mean i guess you could. but wouldn't it be a waste of money?

the predator is just a plug and play tune. a dyno tune is custom. unless you are gonna have the predator reprogrammed with a custom tune?

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Im in pontiac, and I have no clue when it comes to tuning, i was under the impression that you needed to buy some software before getting a tune. This is my first time modding a car

·
Gone but not forgotten
4,672 Posts
GoatHerder said:
Im in pontiac, and I have no clue when it comes to tuning, i was under the impression that you needed to buy some software before getting a tune. This is my first time modding a car
ok. let me try to clarify.

the predator is a great mod. you just plug it in and it gives a standard tune (unless you have it changed by the manufacturer). however it is only useful if you are doing basic bolt ons like intake and catback. anything more and you will need a custom tune

a custom tune wil probably give you more horsepower and is absolutly necessary if you do headers, heads/cam, etc. i am not totally sure how a custom tune works. there are software packages such as HP tuners and LS1edit. but these are useless unless YOU KNOW HOW TO TUNE A CAR. these packages are installed on your laptop which connects to your car.